Cappadocia


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Central Anatolia » Cappadocia » Göreme
June 16th 2010
Published: June 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Getting around Turkey could not be easier, the bus service can get you almost anywhere. Nearly all the buses serve free tea, coffee, coke and some food. Some even have individual tvs and free WiFi. The bus trip from Kahta is quite long but it's a nice journey through mountains and valleys. We arrived quite late in Keysari and still had to get one more bus. We were very lucky and just caught the last minibus. I was travelling with a French couple I'd met at Nemrut. There were 3 free seats so obviously I took the one and let them sit together. This was not acceptable in Turkey though! I was sitting beside a woman so the bus driver asked me to move straight away. We didn't really know what was going on. In fairness the woman herself actually apologised but said it's just not acceptable in Turkey.

There's nowhere quite like Cappadocia on earth. The famous fairy chimneys are caused because of a thin layer of volcanic rocks where are more resistant to erosion than the underlying stone. The area's residents built their homes, churches, a monastery and even a castle into the stone's cliffs.

The major sites are pretty spread out so I took the easy option the first day and went for a tour. The best part was the underground city which was 8 storeys deep! Some of the layers have collapsed but you can still go pretty deep. I don't think there were many 6 foot tall Cappadocians when the city was built so it's a bit uncomfortable at times but still fascinating.

The next day I hired a bike and went to some of the towns nearby. It was seriously hot though and quite a lot of uphill so scooters are probably the more sensible option. By midday I was about ready to throw the bike in a skip. I decided to walk to Uchisar castle. The castle dominates the landscape all around.

My only slight regret is not getting up at sun rise to see all the hot air balloons take off!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



18th June 2010

I LOVED your Cappadocia post and amazing photos! It looks incredible! I haven't been there yet but I hope to go one day. My blog is looking for travel reviews, photos, etc, to share. If you have the time, check it out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com, or email me at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com. Continued fun on your travels! Heather :)
18th June 2010

Thanks Heather, Cappadocia is awesome. My photos do not do it justice!
13th August 2010

Great Historic Places
This is a place close by I enjoyed visiting and I will return anytime. http://www.kalitelioteller.com/antalya_otel.html
13th September 2010

Great journey so far
Hi Aidan, Was talking to your dad and he was telling me about your journey. The photo's are top class. Looking forward to reading the rest of your story. Paddy Meagher

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0653s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb