Wed 7th of August 2013 - Erzurum to Hopa on the Black sea coast


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Black Sea » Artvin
August 7th 2013
Published: August 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Stunning scenery near ArtvinStunning scenery near ArtvinStunning scenery near Artvin

Stunning scenery near Artvin
Wed 7th of August 2013 - Erzurum to Hopa on the Black sea coast



The car still had the problem starting first thing in the morning, so I decided to return to the car workshop to seek help from my friend Veysel the mechanic. Because I could not explain the problem to him in Turkish, I took a video of the ignition problem and showed him. His diagnosis was that it is a electrical problem and took the car to the auto electrician. This man quickly checked the glow plugs and found only 1 in 5 of the glow plugs was working. So the failed glow plugs were replaced and then I bid them farewell as I was about to leave Erzurum.



I headed towards the seaside town of Hopa and arrived at around 6pm. So I quickly look for a hotel to stay for the night. Hopa is only a short distance from the Georgian border. Tomorrow morning I will change what is left of my Turkish money for Georgian money and then I should be leaving Turkey.



Today is the last day of Ramazan, so I went to town to find a good place to eat my dinner. I found this restaurant that had lots of nice food so I sat down and ate my dinner there. The food here is much better than Erzurum.



Saw some tea plantations in Hopa. I recognised them straight away whilst driving in my car. This is a tea producing part of Turkey. I might buy some of this Hopa tea to drink on my journey.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Keeping the car cooler by opening the bonnet slightlyKeeping the car cooler by opening the bonnet slightly
Keeping the car cooler by opening the bonnet slightly

Keeping the car cooler by opening the bonnet slightly
Delicious dinner in HopaDelicious dinner in Hopa
Delicious dinner in Hopa

Delicious dinner in Hopa


Tot: 0.357s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0721s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb