Chrisian Quarter, Damascus, Syria


Advertisement
Syria's flag
Middle East » Syria » South » Damascus
August 9th 2010
Published: June 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The Biet Akbik hotel is in the Christian Quarter of Damascus - the streets and especially the souk, are noticabley different to the other side of town. Much quieter, but we were there on a Sunday...


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Stopped me dead in my tracksStopped me dead in my tracks
Stopped me dead in my tracks

- fantastic display!
Beit AkbikBeit Akbik
Beit Akbik

in a lovely small square and next to Roman ruins
Beit Akbik roomBeit Akbik room
Beit Akbik room

Allnine rooms are named after the Gates of Damascus
turned a corner and realised I was turned a corner and realised I was
turned a corner and realised I was

under a fantastic old cupola...
Staff who invited us in to the Staff who invited us in to the
Staff who invited us in to the

other boutique hotel. They were great, really freindly, but the hotel ws quite intimidating and cold - not at all like Akbik. We knew which one we preferred!
Interior of a hotel we were invited intoInterior of a hotel we were invited into
Interior of a hotel we were invited into

...but we loved Beit Akbik1
Calm quiet streetsCalm quiet streets
Calm quiet streets

totlly different to the other side of the souks!


Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 21; qc: 87; dbt: 0.1516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb