A Day at the Beach on the Persian Gulf


Advertisement
Saudi Arabia's flag
Middle East » Saudi Arabia » Khafji
April 2nd 2010
Published: April 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Arabian (Persian) GulfArabian (Persian) GulfArabian (Persian) Gulf

90 degrees F., sunny sky, blue green water, white sand -- and nobody on the beach but me!
April 2, 2010
Today was the second day of the weekend and the rest of the group arrives tomorrow. I didn’t have any plans, so I mostly spent the day at the beach, which is only a couple of hundred feet from where I am staying.

And what a beach it was! I’m right on the Persian Gulf, or as they refer to it here in Saudi Arabia, the Arabian Gulf. It was 90 degrees, cloudless, with a gentle breeze blowing off the Gulf. As you can see, I was the only one in sight on the beach. It’s hard to believe that no one else was around and I had it all to myself.

I also walked to the grocery store, which is about 20 minutes away. I was inside when the lights started to dim and someone on the loudspeaker started talking in Arabic. I saw shoppers start to move really quickly because that was the signal that they were about to close for another prayer break. As you probably know, there are five prayer breaks a day. (It’s about 6:00 pm as I’m writing this and in fact, I can hear the call to prayer over the loudspeaker right now.)

So I grabbed a bottle of water and a bag of M&M’s (that’s SO me!), paid my Riyahls, and I headed back.

Tomorrow the rest of the gang arrives, so it will seem a little more social. The first assessment center starts on Easter Sunday. I’ve smuggled in yellow birdie marshmallow peeps and pink bunny peeps for the occasion.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Off-Shore DrillingOff-Shore Drilling
Off-Shore Drilling

If you double-click this photo, you will see the off-shore platforms and tanker ship.
Gas RefineryGas Refinery
Gas Refinery

You can see the flame of the gas refinery
Al Jazzera Guest HouseAl Jazzera Guest House
Al Jazzera Guest House

Where I'm staying
To my left...To my left...
To my left...

Miles of empty beach
To my right...To my right...
To my right...

Miles of empty beach
The Ugly and the BeautifulThe Ugly and the Beautiful
The Ugly and the Beautiful

The razor wire at the end of the property constrasts with the beauty of the Gulf


2nd April 2010

Beach
A long way to go to get some private beach, but what a beach. Awesome Ted! Happy Good Friday -- lol. I am sure you will "miss" Easter this year. Ellen
2nd April 2010

Gorgeous beach! Can you go snorkeling there if you want (and have the time.... and the inclination... and won't get run over by an oil tanker... )??
2nd April 2010

Snorkeling
I assume you can go snokeling, but I've never seen anyone do it. Of course, I've never seen anyone period, so who knows. Yes, you don't want to be run over by a tanker because that would be a major ouchie.

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb