Sand Storms - One week Down, Two to Go!


Advertisement
Saudi Arabia's flag
Middle East » Saudi Arabia » Dhahran
February 11th 2009
Published: February 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sand Storm #1Sand Storm #1Sand Storm #1

Everything is now coated with sand. These things supposedly last for several days.

Would you say "It's Sanding Out"?



It’s been great interacting with the Participants because I’ve never talked to a Saudi before. I had a pretty long discussion today with a guy who is a helicopter pilot for Aramco. Ironically, he was in Grand Forks, ND during 9/11 and his mother was worried about him (she didn’t know that Grand Forks isn’t anywhere near NY)! Of course my mother is worried about me being here, so perhaps mothers are the same the world over.

Today was a sand-storm and the sky turned a beautiful golden color. Everyone from here laughed at me when I got excited about the sandstorm, but then the consultants came out and were equally impressed so I didn’t feel as much like as much of a dork. It’s not like a snowstorm made out of sand. . It’s kind of like fog, but now all the streets and sidewalks have fine sand on them. It could be my imagination, but it seems like my lungs hurt from breathing it in.

It reminds me when I was a freshman at college in St. Louis and the first tornado siren went off. All of the easterners (including
Sand Storm #2Sand Storm #2Sand Storm #2

I didn't take a picture of it, but the sun looked like the moon during this.
me) went to the balconies to look for the tornado and all of the sensible Midwesterners took cover in the basement!

I attaching a few photos of the sand-storm. The only thing is that tomorrow is the weekend and supposedly these things last for several days. I’ve seen it, now let’s get back to warm and sunny, OK?

Hey, I’ve now been here for a week! The time is going very quickly.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Sand Storm #3Sand Storm #3
Sand Storm #3

It looks like fog, but notice the golden color of the sky. It's quite beautiful, I think.


11th February 2009

Sandy
Ted: I loved your sandstorm pictures. I never thought about a sand storm. The gold color is really nice. Great job on the blog...I really feel I am there with you. Ellen
11th February 2009

These pictures are really interesting. I am guessing you would be in a bit of trouble if you left your windows open on a day like that! Are the sand storms predictable like a thunderstorm would be?
11th February 2009

Blech!
Very interesting photos, Ted - they sort of look like they're out of someone's old album, because of the quasi-sepia tones. I guess the gold glow is the sun reflecting off all the airbone particles of sand, right? Kind of eery... I don't think "beautiful" would be my word - it just makes me shiver with how gritty every conceivable surface must feel (never did like the beach!). It must get into every nook and cranny, including the cars in the photos...blech! But definitely wonderful to observe from a protective bubble.
11th February 2009

Wow
Ted just took my first look at your blog and I am impressed. Keep it coming. As luck would have it, the palm trees in Minnesota blooming early this year. Too bad you have to miss the spectacle. I await your next post.
12th February 2009

Palm Trees
The palms are hard to see through the haze today, so you might be seeing those Minnesota palms before I see mine! Jim, if I find some Saudi trains, I'll take engine shots for you!
12th February 2009

Sand Storms
I don't think they are predictable and they don't happen all the time. Yes, everything does get covered with sand and dust, but that happens all the time they say. At the commissary, there are always guys with buckets of water and rags in the parking lot. They descend upon parkers and will wash your car while you are shopping. They are part of the HUGE immigrant work force; I think they will clean your car for about $1 US. When I was in Pueblo, Colorado (Target has a warehouse there) I remember they couldn’t keep their windows open because the dust was always flying around. So, there are things that really are better in Minnesota. Of course, we have mosquitoes!

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0801s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb