Coaching and Hoopoes


Advertisement
Saudi Arabia's flag
Middle East » Saudi Arabia » Dhahran
February 9th 2009
Published: February 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hoopoe BirdHoopoe BirdHoopoe Bird

This is what was on the stop sign in a previous entry of mine (this photo is from Wikepedia.)

Coaching Day


My friend eve knows what the weird bird is that I photographed! It’s called a Hoopoe. According to Wikepedia, “The Hoopoe is widespread in Europe, Asia, and North Africa, as well as Sub-Saharan Africa and Madagascar. It migrates from all but the southernmost part of its range to the tropics in winter. Hoopoes were considered sacred in Ancient Egypt and symbols of virtue in Persia, but were thought of as thieves across much of Europe and harbingers of war in Scandinavia.”

Today was the last day in the cycle. In between Assessment Centers, there is one day for coaches to meet people that went through the process previously. It’s a much easier day for me because there are no assessments done. I gave a presentation to the client staff, and then did mostly admin stuff like make the coffee, re-organize the materials for tomorrow’s new Assessment Center, arrange the rooms, etc.

Today, I’m attaching photos of a Hoopoe from Wikepedia, as well as photos of the consultants that I’m working with. Check out the nationalities. It’s like the UN. And what makes it more so is that many of these guys live in different countries than
WolfWolfWolf

From Germany, lives in Australia
they were born it. The prize goes to Glyn, who has THREE valid passports with tri-nationalities: Ireland, Britain, Australia (born in Ireland, mother is Irish, father is British).



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

EsbjornEsbjorn
Esbjorn

From Sweden
PatPat
Pat

From the US
GlynGlyn
Glyn

Lives in Australia, but has citizenship in Australia, Ireland, and the UK.
PengPeng
Peng

Born in China, high school and college in Los Angeles. Lives in Shanghai
SinclairSinclair
Sinclair

From England, lives in Romania.
Aramco CompoundAramco Compound
Aramco Compound

This really is Saudi Arabia, not San Diego. The Arabic on the truck should be the tip-off.


9th February 2009

Congrats on the success of your first Center!
- It sounds like it was all smooth sailing with your first AC - nice one! - Gorgeous bird with a fittingly exotic name (and good pic). - What was your client presentation about? - Are you missing home, or sufficiently distracted by the sensory overload? Keep having fun! :-)
9th February 2009

Hoopoe, eh?
That's funny that your picture was of a real bird. I thought you were just being funny and that it was just a wooden icon carved into the top of the sign post! Rather resembles Woody Woodpecker don't you think! (I'd try to write out the sound that Woody makes but haven't a clue how to even start!) I think it's great that you are making all these international friends. Maybe if Hillary gives up Sec'y of State you could give it a go!
10th February 2009

All Hail the Hoopoe
I LOVE that bird! I was fascinated when I saw your first pic of it, but couldn't figure out how to find information on it, so am happy someone recognized it. Really enjoying your blogs Ted. Thanks!
10th February 2009

Whew!
So glad I got that bird right! I love birds, but am no Audubon. It's absolutely gorgeous. Keep up with the great updates and pics--I'm travelling vicariously these days. So jealous about the great food you're eating. The dates must be incredible too! Not like the mummified ones we get here...
10th February 2009

Passpots
That guy with multiple passports is like Bourne!! Ps. I watched a Bourne movie the other day, it made me think of you and miss you alot! I love you daddy!
10th February 2009

Bourne Identity
Abs, we SO think alike! That's exactly what I said to him. We must be related or something. It was good to hear your voice tonight.
10th February 2009

Dates
eve, you are correct. The dates are GREAT. They are grown locally and apparently are very popular for breakfast. I eat them everyday. The Arabic coffee that goes with them is kind of weak and sweet; I think I'll stay with American coffee.
10th February 2009

Client Presentation
Heather, we are implementing using an Excel spreadsheet for each participant, rather than scoring on paper. The workbook will contain places for scoring each simulation, cognitive tests, coach comments, etc. and it will transfer everything to an integration grid in Excel, rather than transcribing by hand onto a paper integration page. I am also setting up a wireless router, which creates a virtual network that can be accessed by the consultants’ laptops. The router is connected to an external hard drive that will contain the workbooks. At least that’s the theory! I do miss home, but I’m having a great time here. The others here find that hard to believe, but I’ve told them that I don’t get out much!
13th July 2013
Aramco Compound

Compound Photos
I notice that there are no women in your photos. It would be nice to see how women dress at Aramco (currently being flown out for a job interview with the company. Also, it would be great to see the inside of some of the compounds so a new comer will know what to expect. Thanks for your journal!

Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1789s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb