And the rich keep getting richer...


Advertisement
Qatar's flag
Middle East » Qatar
January 26th 2006
Published: January 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It’s no secret that Qatar is a very, very rich country. I think I heard that it’s the richest country in the world per capita. This is evidenced by the lack of coinage. Seriously. There is no change. Rather than give change, grocery stores, for instance, will give you back single packages of chicklets. Can you believe that? Although the locals here are beyond rich, there is still a very large disparity between the classes. The classes being locals and non-western ex-pats, namely Indians and Philipinos. Again, it’s only what I’ve heard, but supposedly it’s legislated that these groups are not allowed to receive more than 600 Qatari Riyals per month—that’s only $200 Cnd.! I think this is going to be an issue that I’m not going to able to get over while I’m here. I can see me ever being comfortable with the class differences that are so overt. For instance, I was at DAGOC yesterday (the offices of the local organizing committee) and there were these butlers with silver trays walking around the office. I was told that these are “tea boys”. They walk around getting tea, coffee, cappuccinos, etc. for all of the employees. How utterly ridiculous is that? I’ve also heard we’re getting a tea boy soon for our office. Now, I’ve been told that they take offense when you get your own tea/coffee, but I just don’t feel comfortable using these services. What to do? What to do?

Well, it’s “Friday” night here, so I’m going to get going and get ready to go out with my new co-workers. It’s actually only Thursday, but the weekends here are Fridays and Saturdays, so tonight is like Canada’s Friday night. Most of my co-workers have complained that there’s nothing to do in Qatar, but from the amount of activities going on, I’m wondering if I was a very boring person in Edmonton because I see tons to do. Who cares if there’s not a thriving night club scene? Tonight, we’re going for drinks and tomorrow night is a big poker tournament. Next weekend we’re going to the Diplomat’s Club for some big dance party and there’s been talk of a desert safari. Does that sound boring to any of you?

Keep the e-mails coming--it's great to hear from all of you!

C.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 85; dbt: 0.0939s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb