Qatar Life Update


Advertisement
Qatar's flag
Middle East » Qatar » Doha
July 27th 2013
Published: July 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Construction ProjectsConstruction ProjectsConstruction Projects

One of the projects I inspect as needed. It has changed a lot in the last few months!
I've realized my life here has revolved solely around work and will continue to do so. Fortunately, because we have so many exciting projects in the pipe, it makes me happy. But I guess this is my life for the next year and a half... We are expanding our company substantially, probably tripling in size! Very exciting stuff that I'll be talking about more in future blogs. Right now, I'm just trying to finish the rest of my projects so I can focus on training my geologists, hiring new geologists and engineers, and setting up our engineering department in preparation for the upcoming projects. Can't wait!

Last Tuesday I officially moved out of my Dubai apartment. When you move out here, you need to demonstrate that all the utilities have been paid up to your landlord before getting your deposit back. So, I spent all day going to the utilities: Palm (A/C), DEWA (electric and water), and Du (cable/internet/phone). The good thing was that all the locations were either in walking distance or just off the metro, so it was easy to get to even without a car. The bad news it was HOT. I mean HOT!!! I walked to
Future QP building complexFuture QP building complexFuture QP building complex

I love the screen works
Palm in the Almas Tower in JLT, then went directly via metro to DEWA. When I was done there, I came home and peeled off my clothes... Ugh! Then I went to Du to finish and returned home just in time to meet the landlord's inspector. After I finished packing, I left the key under the mat and said a sad goodbye to my former home...

In the future, I will be staying at Jamie's in a reversal of the past year. I have her old comfy day bed and will pay a minor portion of the rent to have a place to stay whenever I'm in Dubai. It is nice to have a getaway from Qatar, which I will discuss further below.

As of July 10th, it is Ramadan. Last year in Dubai, I barely noticed as it hardly affected my daily routines. You could get just about anything to eat as long as it was delivery or takeaway. In Qatar, nothing is even open until at least 5:30 for delivery and you can't eat out until after 7. Even the first day in the airport, everything was closed. Though I noticed when I went back last
Labor accommodationLabor accommodationLabor accommodation

My lovely drive to work everyday
week, the places were open. I don't know. Also, in Qatar, there is NO alcohol served. Nothing. Unless you are at a hotel and get it delivered to your room. The bars everywhere are completely shut down. In Dubai, they were just not open until 8pm or they may serve drinks if it was an area that is not viewable by the public. The malls really aren't effectively open until evening time either, neither are movies. I went to the mall the other day at 7pm and they were just opening up the stores! Those are the main differences in the two countries during Ramadan. I don't really have an opinion either way; Ramadan is just more noticeable here.

I've had a couple of Iftars. First was the iftar that we had at the Arjaan in Dubai. In Doha, I went to our favorite Syrian restaurant, which is always delicious. I was confused though because the iftar didn't start until 7:15 and 8pm, they came up to us to tell us that they were closing the buffet so to get the foods we wanted soon - really??? Very strange. Last week, Indiana picked me up from the airport and we went to Moevenpick hotel for iftar and that was pretty dang good as well!!! I really have come to love arabic food, especially the appetizers (mezzah). I could probably just live off mezzah all day every day: fattoush, hummus, moutabel, arabic bread, falafel... yum! I tried my own hummus, but it was not that great - eatable, but not great. And I have a newfound love for moutable, which is an eggplant based dip similar to hummus. I had previously had it at a restaurant in Dubai and it must have been a bad batch because it was horrible and I refused to eat it again for a long time. Then I had it and fell in love with it! I love it better than hummus. For iftar in the Arjaan, my favorite of everything was the moutabel which was flavored with beets and was this pink color - it had a distinctive tart flavor that was incredible.

One thing I noticed is that I think I found the perfect grocery store - Geant at Hyatt Plaza, which is where I've been shopping since I moved into my apartment. Occasionally I go elsewhere if it's along the way
Ramadan KareemRamadan KareemRamadan Kareem

Villagio mall - Dean and Deluca's is getting replaced. :(
or if I'm curious, but I haven't seen anything else with the selection Geant has and the produce is almost always good! Think I'll just stick with it! I love being about to buy a bag full of onions for about 4 riyal (about $1.15) or green chilies for about $0.07 for a small bag...

Ok, enough about food...

This week seems to be another sandstorm. Yesterday when I went to IKEA, there were places that I couldn't even see more than 100m ahead of me! Fortunately, with Ramadan on a friday, the streets were virtually empty. I had never been to Ikea before going with Jamie a few weeks ago and I went to town yesterday! I finally framed my pictures, got some plants, and some dishes... It was a nice way to spend a friday.

I have been looking at what I want to do for Eid holiday here, which starts after the end of Ramadan. You get a few days off and since I didn't take any of the Eid holidays off last year, i'm determined to do so this year, so I'm trying to decide where to go. I'm thinking Prague. However, flights
Villaggio MallVillaggio MallVillaggio Mall

Things just waking up at 7pm...
just about everywhere are super expensive so I don't know... I do know that I don't want to be here during Eid. Especially because our big projects are starting soon and soon enough I won't be able to go anywhere! I looked at places like Paris, Germany, Bucharest or Dublin, but they were expensive and I want to go there when I have more time to travel about. Budapest or Vienna or also possibilities as I think a few days in those cities are perfect. What do you think?


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Ezdan MallEzdan Mall
Ezdan Mall

I found yet another mall
Ezdan MallEzdan Mall
Ezdan Mall

seems to have more arabic accents


28th July 2013

Wow!
It's trippy to think of things not being open all day, but that's the American way - all about convenience! I love the new clean architecture out there though! Very pretty! Miss you my dear! Facetime soon OK! :)
28th July 2013

Facetime
Sounds great!!! Maybe sometime in the next few days - your evening my morning?
29th July 2013

I would go to Budapest...
...to answer your question. I have some Peace Corps friends who spent some time there and they said it was incredible. Thanks for the blog entry and the photos. I hope this finds you well, buttercup.
1st August 2013

Budapest
Hey sugar pie! I definitely do want to go to Budapest while I'm here and I think a good long weekend would be the perfect time. But I just can't justify a $1500 plane ticket for three days... Plus less crowds after summer, so I'll probably go later this year. But I'm glad to hear it is recommended. It looks like I may go to Oman for Eid. We'll see!
20th October 2014

Dubai 1st Trip
You have inspired me to visit Dubai and we finally booked the trip. I have been reading your blog for over 1 year. Any tips or things we must do in Dubai? We are going to be there on Dec 28th. Thanks!! :)
26th October 2014

Thanks for the support!
Wow - a year? Glad I can inspire! :) For Dubai, especially at this time of year, there are all kinds of amazing things to do. I personally loved all the malls - they are each unique (well, all the same stores, but the themes or decorations are various). Depending on your time here, visit one or all of the following malls: Dubai Mall (definitely! largest mall, watch fountain show at night, see Burj Khalifa), Mall of the Emirates (ski slope) and Ibn Battuta (beautiful themed decorations). While at one of these malls, I would suggest trying a VIP movie (Dubai Mall's is the best). You should probably see Burj Khalifa - if you book early it is 100AED as opposed to 400AED - and take the main elevator; if they try to herd you into the maintenance elevator, politely decline to wait for the real one). In addition, if you can head to Abu Dhabi I DEFINITELY suggest going to see the Grand Mosque, which I think is incredible and peaceful at night especially; you can also visit Ferrari World or the Emirates Palace as a day trip. Do a desert safari. All the hotels here are nice, but I love the Rotana hotel chain. Go to Jumeirah Beach Walk and/or Dubai Marina. Visit the souqs. Burj al Arab (you can get tea there for a few hundred, but is it worth it?). Ride a camel. Eat Arabic foods - yum! If you want any further advice on the above, just let me know. Enjoy the trip!

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb