free day in Doha


Advertisement
Qatar's flag
Middle East » Qatar » Doha
December 23rd 2006
Published: December 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I wasn't sure how long it would take to get my work done at the undisclosed location, so I didn't book a return until Friday evening. That means that today was a free day in Doha. I took advantage of the spare time to sleep in, but I'm over the jet lag thing apparently. I was out of bed by 8:00. Oh well, at least I'll get to suffer when I get back home on Saturday.

I went out and decided to head toward the Corniche. I was excited to see restaurants at the end of the Dhow pier, but as I approached, it was obvious they were closed and being torn down. By the time I got back to an area that had restaurants, they were closed. I was able to get some street food: samosas. Thank god I love grease.

I wandered back to the Maharaja, the place where I found the excellent dosa. I managed to sneak in before they stopped serving lunch. Apparently they only serve dosas for breakfast and dinner. The thali was certainly good enough.

I had wandered through the souqs on my way to the Corniche, but they were closed and
digital minaretdigital minaretdigital minaret

Apparently the muezzin phones in the call to prayer on his cell phone
deserted. I went back after lunch and they were just starting to open up again. There's a bird store on the Corniche side and it attracted a lot of attention. The Qataris apparently love their falcons. I was impressed by how easily handled the falcons were. The gloves one wears to handle the birds could also be used for welding.

I bought a bunch of things at the souqs, mostly clothes. I wanted to buy what they call in the Maghreb a kaftan, but apparently there's a middle eastern word which I cannot remember. I got the full kit. I feel a little strange having bought a bunch of what I call beanies, since they're supposedly reserved for cheikhs, but nobody knows that back home.

Without wandering far from the center of the city, I think I exhausted the things to see. I did walk by some of what I suspect is "old Doha." The pre-war buildings are fast disappearing. From the size of the government ministries along the Corniche, I get the impression that whole old neighborhoods have been razed in the last 20 years.

I now have about 3 hours to kill before going to the airport. What to do what to do. Oh, I know, I'll go to the hotel bar and drink.

Bye for now. We'll see you again in Peru in 2 weeks.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Inside the souqsInside the souqs
Inside the souqs

It's a lot more exotic than it looks
falconsfalcons
falcons

birds of a feather flock together
old Dohaold Doha
old Doha

Not too many of the old buildings left in Doha
disappearing Dohadisappearing Doha
disappearing Doha

These buildings are going, going, gone.
graffitigraffiti
graffiti

The graffiti in Doha is very disappointing.


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb