Oman and Dubai


Advertisement
Oman's flag
Middle East » Oman
April 22nd 2008
Published: April 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sultan PalaceSultan PalaceSultan Palace

The palace of the Sultan in Old Muscat
I am now in Tashkent, Uzbekistan waiting for my flight to St Petersburg and have some “free” time (I know this could sound horrible to some) and finally found, after a long while, a viable internet connection.

Oman
Having traveled for a month in the Middle East, I arrived in Oman and was immediately struck by two things: (i) Oman is very clean (the country has won the prize of “Cleanest Country in the Middle East” ever since such a competition was first organized a couple of years ago) and (ii) there is almost no hassling/bargaining which was a (very) welcomed change.

I hadn’t really prepared my stay in Oman and didn’t know what to expect - Oman is very beautiful with its coastline extending over several hundreds of kilometers and spectacular mountainous interior with some of the widest range of fauna and flora in the region. After spending three days exploring the Muscat/Mutrah area (Oman’s capital is more like a big fisherman’s village) under temperatures averaging 37 degrees and enjoying the delicious and refreshing mixed-fruit juice every couple of hours, I wanted to hone my diving skills for two days but could not find a single school that
Muscat - City gateMuscat - City gateMuscat - City gate

This is the preserved (and renovated) city gate into Old Muscat...Walking 3 hours under almost 40 degrees...pretty hard
had the capacity to take me on. I packed my backpack and jumped on a bus heading for Dubai - flexibility of a solo traveler is just great!

I haven’t spent enough time to really discover Oman but know that it is a place where I will come back to in the future for a two week adventure holiday! I recommend it to everyone!

Dubai
I had been to Dubai a year ago for a short break and knew that the cultural intake would be rather minimal while the amount of parties, whiskey and BBQs would largely compensate for it…and I was right!

I spent two weeks doing just that…partying, eating and chilling out at the beach, regaining most of the weight I had lost in the month that had preceded. The Dubai part of my world trip can be considered as a kind of holiday from the holiday. I had a great time with my friends from Belgium who now live in Dubai and Qatar (Mus, Hung and Bouza) and with Moms who joined me for a week of holiday. We also rented a boat and did some diving close to the Omani border during the
MutrahMutrahMutrah

This is the relaxed and old fashioned part of Muscat (Mutrah) where many indian workers live
week-end …so, after all I dived in Oman anyway!

I haven’t taken that many pictures - I am sure you all know how a beach and an over-sized shopping mall look like.

Uzbekistan is next on the list…a pretty solid change from Dubai!

I keep you posted!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Forts and some more fortsForts and some more forts
Forts and some more forts

Forts were used to protect the commercial interests of the Portugese...every hillside along the coastline has at least one...crazy!
Mixed fruit juiceMixed fruit juice
Mixed fruit juice

Wonderful...7 different tastes mixed all together, several times a day
Dubai: Burj al ArabDubai: Burj al Arab
Dubai: Burj al Arab

The symbol of Dubai's extravagance, though pretty nice one needs to admit
MedinaMedina
Medina

Very beautiful, but looks a bit fake..which is normal because it has been built pretty recently
The BBQ(ssssss)The BBQ(ssssss)
The BBQ(ssssss)

One of the many BBQs and bottles of whiskey that were consumed in Dubai
Diving TripDiving Trip
Diving Trip

With my friends Hung, Violetta, Moms and Mus on the boat
Sharqs will be warned..!Sharqs will be warned..!
Sharqs will be warned..!

It was a tough battle but I survived without a scratch...


Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb