Oman part V - Muscat


Advertisement
Oman's flag
Middle East » Oman » Muscat
January 15th 2009
Published: February 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Corridor in MuscatCorridor in MuscatCorridor in Muscat

I just love this kind of photo. If you don't, I apologize for putting it on the blog

Muscat - the capital



The capital of Oman is named Muscat. I spent time there in the beginning of the trip, in the middle of the trip and in the end of the trip. But I left it to the last of my blog entries to actually write about it.

Most of the time I was in Muscat I stayed in an area called Muttrah. It is in Muttrah you find the cheapest hotels and that was the primary reason for me to be there. But Muttrah is also a nice part of Muscat and it has a few attractions so it is also a good place to stay. Most people who come to Muttrah visit the souq, the local market. It is covered market, very clean and nice and it feels very old. It feels very oriental and also feels like a very genuine place. That is until you see that most of the shops cater for tourists. When you see T-shirts saying "My brother went to Muscat and all I got was this lousy T-shirt" you know that the place is touristy.

But there is more to Muttrah than the souq. On a hill towering over
Muttrah FortMuttrah FortMuttrah Fort

On a hill towering over Muttrah is Muttrah Fort.
Muttrah is Muttrah Fort. I was allowed to take photos of it but entering is not possible since the military is in charge of it.

In Muttrah there is also a harbour where cruise ships land when they arrive. In the harbour you can also see various cargo ships, maybe a dhow boat or two and sometimes you can also see Sultan Qaboos private yacht, Al Said. According to Wikipedia Al Said is 155 meters long.

I know I am supposed to call the traditional Arabic sailing vessels dhow and not dhow boat. I know I am making a mistake but it is only to make it clear for everybody reading the blog what I am writing about.

Not far from Muttrah is Old Muscat, which really isn't very old. Well, there are two forts there, Merani Fort and Jalali Fort, each probably dating back a few hundred years. But just like Muttrah Fort these forts are used for military purposes and can't be visited.

The main attraction in old Muscat is the Al Alam Palace, the home of the Sultan. To me Al Alam felt a bit out of place. The palace felt more Asian
Dhow boatDhow boatDhow boat

A dhow boat in Muttrah harbour
in style than Arabic. But then I know almost nothing about architecture so I can be totally wrong about that.

Of the things I saw in Muscat the big highlight was Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque. It is easily the largest mosque in Oman. I have added several photos of it but they don't make it justice. You need to see it to understand it. The grandness of the mosque lies in the combination of the artworks, the corridors and the large courtyards. Not in each one of them separately, which is all you can hope to catch in a photo.

My photos can in no way describe the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque and neither can words. But when I am writing about the mosque there are two things that have to be pointed out.

The first thing I have to mention is the carpet in the mosque. The carpet is 60 times 70 meters in size and it took 600 weavers 4 years to make it.

The second I have to mention is the chandelier in the mosque. It is 14 meters high and 8 meters wide and holds 1122 light-bulbs. The crystals in the chandelier are made by
Sultan QaboosSultan QaboosSultan Qaboos

Sultan Qaboos private yacht, Al Said, 155 meters long according to Wikipedia. A guy who has a yacht this size must be compensating for something...
Swarovski.

Both the carpet and the chandelier are the second largest in the World. The only place where a larger carpet and a larger chandelier can be found is in Sheikh Zayed Mosque in Abu Dhabi.

One thing I really liked in Oman was the shop signs. They had a very typical style, like it was hand painted, with the business written in both English and Arabic. It didn't matter what kind of business they were running, the sign outside the shop looked exactly the same. One thing that surprised me a lot was the large number of tailors everywhere. I guess all people wear tailor-made clothes in Oman. It is the only thing that makes sense to me.




Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Entrance Muscat Old HarbourEntrance Muscat Old Harbour
Entrance Muscat Old Harbour

The entrance is of course guarded by not less than three watchtowers
Merani FortMerani Fort
Merani Fort

Merani Fort in Old Muscat probably dates back a few hundred years. The rest of Old Muscat is not very old
Al Alam PalaceAl Alam Palace
Al Alam Palace

Looks Asian, not Arabic, to me.
No Parking?No Parking?
No Parking?

Look closely at the sign on the wall. Yes, you guessed right. The car IS parked there...
Sultan Qaboos' Grand Mosque Sultan Qaboos' Grand Mosque
Sultan Qaboos' Grand Mosque

The carpet is 60 times 70 meters in size and it took 600 weavers 4 years to make it. The chandelier is 14 meters high and 8 meters wide and holds 1122 light bulbs.
Shop signsShop signs
Shop signs

I really liked these shop signs. Every shop sign in Oman was in the same style
They have many tailors in OmanThey have many tailors in Oman
They have many tailors in Oman

They have surprisingly many tailors in Oman. Here there are 9 or 10 of them in a row
Sultan Qaboos is popular in OmanSultan Qaboos is popular in Oman
Sultan Qaboos is popular in Oman

In every office and in every hotel reception there is at least one photo or painting of Sultan Qaboos
The money is calledThe money is called
The money is called

Omani money (try to say that fast five times over) is called Rial. One Rial is divided into 1000 baisa. I felt awkward every time I had to say that. Baisa is a dirty word in Swedish


Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.132s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb