Showbak


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » South » Showbak
November 14th 2007
Published: April 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This was on our last day in Jordan, on our way back we explored Shobak and the Little Petra. If only I knew this place was more or less like any other place and worth the miss I wouldn't have made all that effort. It's a very small place and can be finished within 30 mins also there were hardly any tourist so mom was very uncomfortable to hang in here. What I hated most was our driver who was actually going to take us to Wadi Rum and Aqaba got us confused and bought us here instead. If only I would have read Lonely Planet on my last day I would have bargained better.

We had an early morning flight at 3 and we still had 24 hours to go. Thanks to Abu Nasir, our first driver who took us to his home for some shelter as mom and I didn't know what to do after reaching the Amman city at 4 pm. Now he had a massive house and a massive family. Nobody spoke English except his wife who was a sweetheart. Apparently it was a death anniversary of a family member so all his relatives and friends started pouring in. For a moment we thought we were better off at the airport.

We left Abu Nasir's house at 10 pm after which he took us to a restaurant for refreshments and dropped us to the airport by 11 pm. We thought we would check in the luggage and wait till 3 but unfortunately they didn't allow us to check in so we had to wait till 1 am to check in. It was a long wait but thankfully Yathi kept me in company. I am sure he must have exhausted all his money in transfering money on my phone to talk to me. Finally we boarded the flight and couldn't wait to come home back.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb