Welcome! The Holy Land


Advertisement
Jordan's flag
Middle East » Jordan » North » Amman
June 17th 2012
Published: June 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

WelcomeWelcome! I've heard that phrase a hundred times today, these Jordanians do know how to make you feel at home. I'm in the capital of Jordan, Amman, aka the surface of the damn sun. And I love it. I can't understand the Arabic writing, or grasp more than the intent of the call to prayer that blares over the microphone city wide, but I can cross the street just one lane of traffic at a time (no worries fam!) bargain with a street vendor and hale a local cab with the best of them. I didnt use a private taxi once in my five weeks there, only public transit or my own feet, but that's all in the past now, taxi time!

I am staying in a hostel right next to the Roman Amphitheater and the Citadel. Yes, Roman ruins are much, much more accessible outside of Rome! Just remember this when you travel, you are being watched and are never alone! I spoke with some locals for a good twenty minutes while I tried to stave off sunstroke, we talked about local food, weather and the sites of Jordan and, ahem taxi services! Yes, so I found a private guide who gave me a full tour of the largest mosques and provided me with extensive information about local customs and history. So, I did receive a very good service, but trust me I was a pursued customer! Btw, I was able to go in one of the mosques! Typically, women are not allowed to go in but after donning some modest garb, I was admitted. It really was quite an experience for me.

Oh, my friends, the food! I feel like I can eat again! Eating on a budget in Europe entails a never ending diet of sandwiches, bread and cheese. As a solo traveler, Europe wasn't and epicurean experince for his budget traveller. Mansif, consisting of a dish of rice and a side dish of I think mutton in this delicious kefir-yogurt sauce( thats how I think of it anyways! ) was incredible. Even though the dollar and dinar are fairly comparable, I can eat here people! It's real food, food that I freaking love! Oh and did you say you'd like some orange juice? BAM! Fresh squeezed Jordanian oranges baby!

Tomorrow i have many options to explore, as this Holy Land is full of so, so much. The only limitations are my own imagination and, well that dang reality-bank account thang too! I was accepted not my program and will begin studying in August in UNLV. So even more I rely on public transport and local food. Good habits anyways, really though.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



18th June 2012

Thanks for the break from real life.
Amber, I just got to read all of your blog. Oh I wish I was there with you! I now have an IPhone that I don't know how to use and all of the info in my BlackBerry didn't transfer to it but I have an IPhone. I will be in Vegas quite a bit in the near future with my mom. Billy misses you. Love you and have fun.
20th June 2012

photos???????
Amber, your killing me! How am I supposed to live vicariously thru you if I don't have any pictures to help me thru the journey? Preferably pictures that I can't get from Nat'l Geo, picky are'nt I :-) Enjoy!
23rd June 2012

I'm trying I swear!
I have some great images, I will be Ure to share!

Tot: 0.31s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1139s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb