And, Unwillingly, We Part


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » West Bank » Nablus
July 23rd 2009
Published: July 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

My Original TeacherMy Original TeacherMy Original Teacher

Ibrahim and his daughter Tella

I’m looking back on my past two months here in Nablus, and I am simply stunned by how quickly time passed. I look back on former doubts- I almost stayed in Canada, and then I almost got sent Back to Canada when I arrived- I have a hard time believing that I almost threw it all out the window. The minute I arrived in Nablus, I was completely embraced by the locals. The minute I arrived at the center, I was completely embraced by the staff.

How to phrase this without going cliché or cheesy?

I’m taking with me at least basic knowledge on how to research and prepare grant and project proposals.
A much more in-depth understanding of the conflict here.

Of conditions of life here.

Some personal insights.

A MUCH improved understanding of Arabic.

A look at social work in an occupied territory.

A healthier liver (haha)
…but probably a larger waistline (the hospitality here borders on abuse- of the stomach).

A complete and vastly extended Palestinian surrogate family.

And so much more. Words truly cannot even begin to describe how rich I feel from my entire
ConspiringConspiringConspiring

Mohammed and Afnan
experience here.

I want to thank everyone that I’ve met here- from the couple that helped me out the very second (no joke) I arrived, to everyone part of my daily life: the people at the center, the volunteers at Project Hope, the Public Relations Department at the University, to the multitude of families, friends, and random people that have offered me heaps of coffee and have borne my bad Arabic over the past couple of months!



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Parade DayParade Day
Parade Day

Looking mildly confused instead of on top of things, I might say.


26th September 2009

Hi!
Great blog!! If you like, come back and visit mine: albumdeestampillas blogspot com Thanks, Pablo from Argentina

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb