Sickeness or how this week has just been one big downer for me


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Tel Aviv District » Tel Aviv
July 1st 2011
Published: July 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I’m not quite sure what to say for this post, other than I’ve gotten sick twice this week. It kinda sucked, for multiple reasons. First it’s not cool getting sick in another country when I’m trying to have fun and work. Second, it’s really hard to buy any type of over the counter medication when everything is in Hebrew. And I miss the US. Yea, there may be way too many Walgreen's but that means I don't have to look very hard to find one. One every 100 yards....

On Tuesday, I had some type of stomach bug/food poisoning so I had to skip out on my internship that day. I did tell Emily on the phone however that she could send me work at home and I would to it happily (as sitting in bed sick, is actually a lot more boring than people realize). Luckily, Emily saved me from my boredom and emailed me some work to do, including a questionnaire for the Mediterranean Youth Meeting group. The questionnaire was a little weird as it wasn’t formatted properly (thank you Bill Gates…). I also worked on my personal project, which is revising the website text and making a new (possibly) brochure that appeals to centrists and Americans.

This week has just not been good for me or for Windows. On Sunday the internet was down. And I’m thinking it must have been something with the server as the shared network folder was also down. And of course that meant we couldn’t get to any of our saved work, so we couldn’t even proof-read or edit. …And that means that I had to go fold clothes.

Pardon me while I bitch for a minute. I understand that Windows is an incredibly small NGO and has problems with organization and personnel but that doesn’t mean I want to clean or fold clothes. Of course that's just me being a jerk, I'll do it but I feel like that room is slowly destroying my soul (just like the LSAT). The organization doesn’t turn anything away either. So we have a huge pile (it looks like a scene from the hoarders show on A&E, no joke) of clothes, shoes, bags, toys, and other assorted crap (literally crap: things like crockery, children’s books in German, sexy lingerie, lamps, suitcases…). I think people are just donating this stuff because they don’t want to feel any guilt if they throw them out. Also, why can’t Windows ask people to sort the clothes? A men’s pile and a women’s pile when it’s dropped off would be great.

And to top off my wonderful week I got a fever and cut myself on glass on Thursday (don't you gyuys say a word). I had to leave work early as I was running a fever and got back to the apartment and cut myself on a drinking glass I broke. Because that’s how I roll… Luckily the cuts weren’t bad and my fever went away during the night (unluckily I wasn’t really able to go for White Night but what little I saw didn’t really interest me and I’ve heard it was overrated so…. It could have been worse).

To make up for the hours I missed on Thursday (as I couldn’t even work from home) I made a really long do list and sent it to Emily so she could anything she wanted me to do, as she isn’t going to be at work on Sunday.

I’m really hoping that this coming week will turn out better for me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb