Mehane Yehuda and the Halvah King


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Jerusalem District » Jerusalem
April 28th 2013
Published: April 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I really enjoy local farmers’ markets and wet markets. (I also like grocery stores, but that’s another story.) These are some of my favorite places to visit when I travel, and since the Mehane Yehuda Market is not too far from where I am staying, I decide to visit.

First of all, the place is huge; covering several blocks. The market dates back to the Ottoman Empire and offers just about anything you can want. Fresh fruits, sure, but also nuts, and dried fruits, household goods, prepared foods, juices, fresh flowers, and mounds of delectable pastries, a never ending parade of color and smell. Vendors call to you from their stalls singing the praises – and I literally mean singing – of their wares. And of course their stuff is ever so much better than the stuff of the next guy.

By contrast, the Halvah King is quiet and calm. Halvah is one of my favorite sweets made from ground sesame seeds and sugar. The Halvah King’s family – I never did get his name – came originally from Morocco in 1947. They first set up a stall in the Old City, but eventually moved to the Mehane Yehuda. His halvah is made from organic sesame seeds imported from Egypt, and he offers over a 100 different kinds of halvah, including chocolate, pistachio, and coffee.

Walking around the market is hard work, so of course I had to fortify myself with an iced coffee and a chocolate ball (so good!) And, of course, I had a big chunk of halvah in my shopping bag.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

more sweetsmore sweets
more sweets

best chocolate balls in town
rubber chickens!rubber chickens!
rubber chickens!

What more do you need?


29th April 2013

I love the market photos
Fortified by an iced coffee and you are on your way.
5th May 2013

Love the Market Pics!
Hi Karen, WOW - looks like fabulous eating for foodies who like to experiment. I wonder what they do with food that spoils without refrigeration, maybe it gets re-cycled to some other thing, like compost. I know I'm a little behind in reading these but I haven't been very good about email -- too many other things to do. Hope to be out of here by June 1, IF I can get something done to relieve the pain in the sciatic nerve. Stay safe. Nikki
11th May 2013

Sweets
I LOVE halva, and these photos have made me quite hungry! The Halvah King's stand looks delicious :)
11th May 2013

Halvah!
And it WAS delicious!

Tot: 0.476s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 35; qc: 125; dbt: 0.333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb