Merry Christmas


Advertisement
Israel's flag
Middle East » Israel » Haifa District » Haifa
December 30th 2009
Published: December 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

First of all happy holidays to everyone!

It has been tough here during christmas, there is no christmas spirit, no christmasfood and chocolates in the stores, no snow no darkness etc. Therefore I decided to do something special for christmas this year (seeing how I was in Israel last christmas aswell, it was time to celebrate christmas again). I heard about a christmas parade in Nazareth and got curious. In Nazareth there are christian arabs aswell as muslim arabs. I suggested the parade to my friends at the university and after class on 24th of December we all went with the bus to Nazareth. Seeing how Nazareth was Jesuses homecity I expected a different kind of christmas. A religious kind of christmas about Jesus and not about santa claus and presents and such.

Well was I in for a surprise:D haha! The christmas parade in Nazareth went beyond my expectations. All the children were dressed in santa suits and they bought balloons that really had nothing to do with christmas. "Scouts" were the main attraction in the parade (I don't know how popular scouts are in Nazareth area, but it seemed a bit extreme) and the weirdest thing must
Christmas Parade in NazarethChristmas Parade in NazarethChristmas Parade in Nazareth

I don't know if the singing puppet was supposed to be the lamb that was sacrifised for the sin - this is what it is says on the car. But then again why are the other puppets on the car not sheep?
have been the music that was played by the bands in the parade, they were playing on scottish bagpipes!!! Scottish bagpipes! I do definitely not see the link with that to christmas or christmas songs. There were also a few cars in the parade that they transformed to a huge santa or something christmassy like that and they through small candies into the crowd. It was truely a special experience and most of the evening I just laughed at the bizarness (this is probably not a real word).

The parade ended with some beautiful fireworks. I hope my pictures will give you a clearer view of the christmas parade.
All in all it felt like a mix between the Dutch celebration Queensday (crazy people dressed up) - 17th of May, which is the national day of Norway where the pradades are the basic thing and also with a hint of New Years feeling because of the fireworks. All these delightful holidays mixed together, but sadly for me not a true Christmas celebration.

Hope you all enjoyed the food, the snow, the family and friends and the presents, I really did miss it😞
Now I have my final exam tomorrow (yes on New Years Eve) and then a few more days to say goodbye and then I will be on a plane back towards Holland and Norway. See you soon, in 2010!!

PS! I found a dead bat on the fence next to the house one day, they always fly above my head in the evenings. This is the first time I see one up close in daylight. And the mystery is: How did it die? Cause it is hanging on the fence in sleeping state, but it is dead. Why would he hang there and why is it dead?



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Christmas Parade in NazarethChristmas Parade in Nazareth
Christmas Parade in Nazareth

Yeah... I didn't get this aswell...
Christmas Parade in NazarethChristmas Parade in Nazareth
Christmas Parade in Nazareth

Cool young guys sitting on the car and enjoying the attention:)
Christmas Parade in NazarethChristmas Parade in Nazareth
Christmas Parade in Nazareth

Look closely and you will see maria and josef with the baby jesus and angels. In the background though there is yet another santa....
Christmas Parade in NazarethChristmas Parade in Nazareth
Christmas Parade in Nazareth

The crowded main square
Christmas Parade in NazarethChristmas Parade in Nazareth
Christmas Parade in Nazareth

A banner similar to this one was their last time I visited Nazareth


7th February 2010

visit us in viagemafora.blogspot.com
Hello Kirsten We would like invite you to visite our blog, have new post, about the paradise “ Zakynthos or Zante Island“ in Grecee... you can find to translate on the right top side of the page. We hope you enjoy. www.viagemafora.blogspot.com best regards Antonio & Ellen

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 9; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0741s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb