Rest In Peace Brothers


Advertisement
Iraq's flag
Middle East » Iraq
December 23rd 2006
Published: December 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Dear Friends

Things have been pretty bad here. We lost two soldiers earlier this week. I knew one of them. He was a good fighter - better than me, and we practiced combatives together a few times. He was a nice guy. I pray for his family. I didn’t know the other man, but I pray God will comfort his family, too. It hit me pretty hard, and sobered me up. What if that had been one of the guys here? What if I hadn’t shared the love of Christ with them? God sent me here on a mission, and I must be on “duty” for Him all the time.

It’s been a few days now, and time and busyness go a long way to dampen the impact. We also got a ton of mail yesterday, which went a long way to brighten our moods. So many people want to support the troops this time of year. It is really heartwarming. One group packed 100 boxes this year and even sent us a DVD that showed them doing all the work. It was really cool. We also go “adopted” by a troop of Brownie Scouts. 

I’ve still got a lot of presents wrapped up under the tree. I am saving all the wrapped presents for Christmas day. I was looking at them thinking, “Wow! I actually go a good number of presents to open on Christmas;” but then I realized that I would be opening them all by myself. There won’t really be anyone here to share the joy with.  It’s ok. It’s a small price to pay to have the opportunity to witness to and serve these men.

Scripture Thoughts
“It is not by force nor by strength, but by my Spirit says the Lord Almighty. Nothing not even a mighty mountain will stand in Zerubbabel’s way; it will flatten out before him! Then Zerubbabel will set the final stone of the temple in place,…” - Zechariah 4:6b-7a

“And I am sure that God, who began the good work within you, will continue His work until it is finally finished on that day when Christ Jesus comes back again.” - Philippians 1:6

God promised Zerubbabel that He would make sure that Zerubbabel actually finished the great task of rebuilding the temple. Even though Zerubbabel came up against mountains of opposition, the Spirit of God would conquer those mountains on Zerubbabel’s behalf. As we face mountains of opposition in our own lives, let us look at them as God does - as opportunities for God to showcase His glory to a lost and dying world. They are (or will be) opportunities to share the love of Christ. Remember that Sir Edmund Hillary (the first man to summit Mount Everest) would have been a nobody if a mountain had not stood in his way. Where’s your mountain today? Climb it. God will get you to the top (even if he has to drag you kicking and screaming). He will succeed in your life. Bank on it.

Your Soldier,
Tony Erskine


Advertisement



23rd December 2006

Merry Christmas!
Merry Christmas Tony! our family is praying for you and we will think of you on Christmas. We hope to see the girls in Jan. when they come down. We love you! EMILY MICHAEL AND EVAN
25th December 2006

Merry Christmas
Merry Christmas Tony. Thank you so much for being where you are and doing what you are doing. I pray that you and yours will be safe,secure and protected by our Lord and Saviour. God bless you this Christmas Day; my prayers are with you always. Love, Mom
25th December 2006

Feliz Navidad y Prospero Ano Nuevo, to all there.
27th December 2006

Merry Christmas
So happy to hear from you again. You are never off our minds and you are never out of our prayers. You are doing such a badly needed work for the Lord and you are a very brave soul to be doing so much to futher the knowledge of our Lord and Savior. You are a true inspiration to me as well. It has got to be devastating to lose any of your comrades. What a terrible thing to have to endure. I loved the pictures, evidence that you were just fine at that moment. All here send their love and prayers for your safe return and for your good work. Laura sent a picture of the girls. They are beautiful and so is she. I must call her this evening. This has got to be a very difficult time and lonely time for her. We love you Tony and are so proud of you. Grandma
29th December 2006

Hope you had amerry Christmas
Hi I'm Margie. I live in Oklahoma and just lost my husband 3 mos. ago from a long illness. It's so good to hear someone put the Lord 1st and give Him ALL the glory....after all it is His!!! Gotta Love Him!!! Any way I hope you are home soon but until then keep up the great ministry work....that's kinda what I am trying to do too, I am a minister and want to keep in touch with some of the troops who don't have anyone... God Bless You Always Margie
30th December 2006

Nice Tree
Sorry to hear about your friends. I have figured out where you are. I am going to drop a "tourist" map on a web site so that you can download it. I know you won't be able to visit Babylon but it will be nice to know where it is anyway. :) Nice to see that sight on that SAW. I was afraid you would not be able to mount it on that pup. I love you son and you are in my prayers constantly. Be careful. Dad
12th January 2007

Thanks
Thanks, Tony, for the hard work you're doing. My son, Spc. Armand D., is at FOB Iskan. He's in 1-501st, A-CO. Perhaps you know him. I haven't heard from him since a couple of days before Christmas. Hopefully he'll get a chance to call home soon. If you do know him, please tell him his family in Louisiana sends their best. Best to you, too, and all of our troops. Take care, stay safe, and God speed.
13th January 2007

Hey... What's up target boy???
Lol! Son, I see the reports of your death have been greatly exaggerated. That is a good thing. I do hope you were wearing the armor that Grandma and Frank bought. I do hope that your buddy took your SAW and used it accurately :) Now listen... You don't get shot in the back if you are facing the target. ;) Sup DOG! Be WAY more careful. I got Grandbabys that need you home, get it?

Tot: 0.28s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 7; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0695s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb