Larnaka Day 3


Advertisement
Cyprus' flag
Middle East » Cyprus » Larnaca
April 5th 2009
Published: April 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Venturing into town round two. We decided that we were deff not walking this time. I went to bed dredding that walk thinking I would have to do it again today.. not only once, but twice. So we waited for the bus and noticed that it does not come every 1/2 an hour we were waiting at least 40 min. We got into town in 5 minutes instead of forever it was so much nicer.

We went to the promenade since there was going to be traditional Greek dancing and it was pretty cool and then we went to the beach and laid out for hours which then meant of course I got fried like no other. I was wearing my hadaya necklace so I have this little aread on my chest which is not red in the shape of a heart; kinda awkward.

As we were laying out we found ourselves very hungry so we went to another local place to get breakfast/lunch/dinner and I got another local beer called leon. This was an amber a little darker than keo and fuller bodied. I was not a huge fan of it. I rehttp://www.travelblog.org/Admin/edit-entry.htmlally like KEO. We then made our way to a makolet type thing and bought a couple of the sweet delicacies Cyprus is know for ad made our way to the bus stop because we were quite tired and it was getting pretty cold.

As we were waiting I was introduced to the Cyprian arse; they dress the same and they suck their teeth at me. we got back to the hotel and the plan was to have a relaxing evening with our wine and goodies ad take long showers after being on the beach. I took a shower and then crawled into bed to watch some tv and write down some thoughts and then next think I know i say ' yea i am going to take a nap for a little while' this was at 7pm and do not wake up until the wake up call we set which was for 8am the FOLLOWING morning. Seriously I think the past seven months has finally caught up to me.

As I am finishing breakfast, I hear the family next to us go "yeah so wee are only going to be here for 1/2 a day because dad thinks its boring." The best part was when we were leaving for the ay we saw this family all packed up and heading to their cars. Ha Cypriots must have thought that tx and I are jokes since these two Americans girls are fools for not renting a car, waiting for the bus, as well as being in Larnaca for more than two days. I would recommend people not to do what Tx and I did. We are deff making the best of our situation it is creating some laughs as well and hind sight 20/20.

We wondered back into town today 4/6 and since we took a 11:05 bus yesterday we thought that there would be one at the same time today and instead it came at 11:15, it was packed. This driver really put Israeli drivers to the test of how many people they could fit in this timy pus that is 1/2 the size of an egged bus. a huge group of tourists must have landed yesterday or early morning. After we were sardines on the bus for like 10 -15 minutes we got off and walked to the Kition ruins which is where different temples from the Greco-Roman era it was a Vinictian settlement based from Aphrodite and pre Aphrodite whose names were Astarte and Ashtar. We he wandered to the archaeological museum and we got there ad it was closed but it features roman glassware and terracotta figurines etc... We will venture there again on wednesday be fore we leave.

While we were planing our days plans when we first got here, we saw a Jewish star on the map and we wondered if that could be a synagogue. We knew that we needed to go there and as we were wondering the streets and making random turns to get to the road that this synagogue must be on we though that if you wanted to get here you must know where it is. We get to the address and we look up "Chabbad of Cyprus" of course it is.. and now everything clicked. The rabbi saw us talking and taking some pictures and welcomed us in. Everyone was cleaning and selling the chametz it was a sight to see. It was a beautiful building we introduced ourselves and got invited to the sedar. I now was feeling very guilty that we will be sitting in TLV at Ben Gurion waiting to go to Rhodes. I have promised myself that we will wonder into the old city in Rhodes and try to find something for the second night. After meeting the rabbi and saying thanks we wondered back to the promenade got some lunch and then went to the medieval fort. This was a 12-18 century fort from the Byzantine empire. Got to enjoy the view and look at some artifacts and saw a newlywed couple. If I thought Israeli wedding gowns were horrendous cyptairian put them in a running for their money. But every bride is beautiful on the wedding day right?

Then we wanted to get the local ice cream. The stand lady wouldnt let us taste the flavors so that was a bust. She was like you buy one.. that is your taste. I was thinking how would i know what I would like since there are some strange flavors. I was very disappointed when this happened. we headed back to the bus stop soon after that because I saw a bus there from a far and there was no way I was waiting for another 1/2 and hour or whatever they call it. We got back to the hotel and started to open the Cypriot teats that we should have eaten yesterday but didnt get to it. The Saint Joe's Commendaria is a very thick port wine it was delicious but not my licking. The jelly candies are covered in powered sugar really sweet and since I am not a jello person i should have seen it coming that I would not have liked this. The Brittle was very good a variety of nuts and sesame seeds in carob honey.

Beach tomorrow hopefully I will not get burnt again.. exhausted bed early Lila

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0652s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb