Settled in


Advertisement
Bahrain's flag
Middle East » Bahrain » Manama
November 25th 2007
Published: November 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well. I have been here near on three weeks now. Settled in pretty well. Know enough of my job to get by day to day without direct supervision. The guys throw me a curly one every now and then but on the whole I am getting the hang of what I am to do. the new ship comes in in a few days so we are ramping up to introduce the crew to the wonders of trying to get things done in this environment. I have briefings of my own that I have to give, mail procedures and the like, so anticipating getting to know the crew. They are going to be our main focus for the next six months so it will be good to put a few faces to the emails that I am getting lol.

With the work temp we are pretty much eating, working and sleeping though we try and squeeze a few hours a day to ourselves. Took some pics of where we are living and the like. I told you that it's pretty good so I thought I would show you.

Me in my war suit . That was down at the range in Kuwait before coming down here.

Then we have Me messing round in the accomodation in Kuwait.


This is the vehicle I drive. 3tonnes of v8 muscle. Goes like a dream. Though it has a tendency to creep up to 130kph all the time. Don't know how it happens lol. Nissan Armada. They rock. I filled it up the other day. We are paying 1 Bahraini Dinah for 10 litres. So to fill this thing up full from empty is about 100 litres. 10 Dinah. Equates to just under $30 Australian. I love it.


Our lounge room.


My bedroom. Though this was taken the day after I moved in so all that shite on the bed has now been stashed in the cupboard. It's clean if only because I don't have enough stuff over here to fill it up and make it dirty.


This is the outside of our villa. Remember there is two of these in the compound as well as a smaller transit accomodation block. As you can see it's really rough though when there's only four of us here we kinda need our space. On the bigger bases like Kuwait or Fuj they are on US airbases and the facilities there lead to a lot more to do but when it's only us and there's not many places to go to 'get away' from work, we kinda need our space.

Well I should go. Early morning start tomorrow. I will talk to you all soon.

Damo

Advertisement



26th November 2007

Oil
Good to see you over there keeping the oil safe and my car running. Can you bring me back a supertanker full at Bahraini prices??? The higher the octane rating the better. keep safe brother. thinking of you.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb