Mamma Mia has it been a week already?!


Advertisement
Europe
May 12th 2012
Published: May 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello World!

I can't believe that I have been in Italy for a week already, it has gone so fast and I feel like I have always lived here. Yesterday I had to get my fiscal code in order to set up an Italian bank account. I can't believe how painless it was, I had it in my hand within 5 minutes, had that been London, I would have had to wait 3-6 months! Then I set up my bank account which was also nice and easy, I should hopefully have my bank card next week!

Been cycling a lot as well as there are only 2 buses every half an hour, so it is the quickest way to get to school. The first time I cycled I kind of hit an old lady a little bit, but in my defense it was her fault as I called out "scusa, scusa" and she still managed to walk in front of me!

Had my first experience of the bus this week, let's say it did not go well. In one day I had 2 bad experiences and have since not dared to take the bus again, even though I had already bought a bus pass for the whole month!! On Tuesday morning after I took the girls to school I decided to practise my journey to school, well let's just say it's a good thing I did because I totally missed my stop and ended up getting kicked off the bus by the driver in the middle of nowhere! Had to walk back to where I live which took over 2 hours as there were no buses back anywhere! Had massive blisters underneath my feet as well! Ouch! Then later that afternoon I had to take the bus back to the school for real this time, was waiting at the bus stop minding my own business when this crazy lady holding a twig (?) approached me. This is our conversation: Woman: "Blah blah blah..." (It was in Italian so I have no idea what she actually said) Me: "Sono inglese" (I am English) Woman: "Oh ok, I speak English too. I like your eyebrows" (This was accompanied by a death stare) Me: "Ok, thanks" (She is still staring at me and pointing the twig at me!) Woman: "What bus are you getting?" Me: "The 1/" Woman: "Me as well, do you want to come to my house for a coffee?" (Still staring and pointing!) Me: "Umm... no I have to go straight to my school otherwise I will be late" (getting a bit scared now) Woman: "Ok maybe another time? Can I listen to your iPod?" Me: "No sorry it is broken." She then just walks off! SO random! It is safe to say I have not dared to get the bus again since this happened!

I also started school this week and can now understand some of the things the teacher says to me. I have to go on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays. I hope this week we start some new stuff as this week they taught us things I already knew. The good thing about going to school is I made a friend from Canada and this week we have had fun cycling around, shopping, eating gelato and practicing our Italian (in one week I have had gelato 3 times!).

Every Friday there is a massive market near my house which sells everything! I went yesterday with Ashley and it was good, bought a scarf for 4 Euros (about £3.50), which I had seen in London for £10! Bargain!

Here are some pictures of my room and the house where I am staying, getting to teach the girls a bit more English now which I am enjoying!

Tomorrow Ashley and I are going to Turin to explore, so will let you know what it is like.

Ciao for now!




Soph




XxX




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.293s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0716s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb