one month in Peru


Advertisement
Europe
December 9th 2011
Published: December 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I have now been in Peru for just over 1 month now. There are only 3 volunteers in Pisac now, almost of all of them have gone home for christmas. Over the last couple of weeks I have been coaching more in Calca and Cusco than in Pisac which I prefer because I get to coach more independently. The kids are not as good but I find them more fun. I also di a session with some of the older players 16-17 and joined inas mOne weekend recently I trekked up the Pisac ruins with an american volunteer called Tom. I get on really well with hiuch as playing which was nice for change. although he has just finished today actually. The ruins in Pisac were amazing. They were so much bigger than they looked from below. They covered a whole mountain. We spent about 3 and a half hours exploring and taking photos. That weekend was also the last weekend for three volunteers from Pisac and a two from Calca so we all went to Cusco and had a meal and a few drinks. Last weekend I also went to a really coll chocolate musuem. It was really interesting and had this delicuos chocolate tea made from the husks of Cocoa shells. Really good fun. I had guinea pig agian for tea last week. This time it was served whole before my host mum split it up and dished it out. I got a good photo of it. My spanish classes are going well. I am definitely able to speak to my host family more than I could at the start. Yesterday I went to another football match in Cusco. Real Garcilaso were in the semi final of the copa Peru so it was much busier than last time. They were 3-2 down from the first leg but they won 2-0! Was really good fun. In terms of food I think I have eaten more rice this month than I have in the rest of my life previously. The food is nice though. I think I will do some more ruins this weekend.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.221s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb