A Short Break


Advertisement
Europe
March 30th 2011
Published: March 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Carnival Queen Contender 1Carnival Queen Contender 1Carnival Queen Contender 1

Taken at the election of the adult Carnival Queen, Los Gigantes, Thursday 17th March 2011.
Hola mis patos!
No whole winter out in Tenerife for me this time but I'm not long back from a 10 day break out there. I arrived the day after they'd just had their coldest day in 40 years with temperatures down in single figures even on the coast and a hailstorm in Alcala which left the town buried in ice. When I got to the airport around 6:30 in the evening the temperature was only 15C, I'd never seen it that cold at that time of day, especially as it was bright and sunny. However, things quickly improved after that and I had a fantastic 10 days weather with no rain and only one afternoon with no sun. I rented a car for the time I was there but ended up not really using it very much. I stayed in an aparthotel for the first 3 days where I'd stayed on my tennising trip in 2004 and then moved into the flat in Playa de la Arena where I stayed last winter when my friends to whom it belongs went back home to the UK. I managed to catch up with most of my friends out there over the time
arnival Queen Contender 2arnival Queen Contender 2arnival Queen Contender 2

Same as previous photo.
I was there but the sports bar at the bottom of the street, Pilgrim's, had closed down because the landlord doubled the rent so the proprietor shut up shop and came back to the UK. Consequently I didn't see any of the folks who used to work there. The reason I went out at this particular time was that the Los Gigantes carnival was on the weekend I was there so there was lots of stuff happening including the annual Burial of the Sardine ( which of course actually involves its incineration ) and the election of the Carnival Queen, both of which are followed by the consumption of copious quantities of booze and dancing till the ( very ) small hours. I succeeded in fitting in one of Senor Domingo's mightily impressive seafood paellas again and meant to take my camera to the restaurant to get a picture of it to post in this blog but I forgot - maybe next time. I also ate in the German restaurant I sometimes go to a couple of times where on one occasion I was chucked off my table to make room for a bunch of bikers! Bet that would happen
Mt. TeideMt. TeideMt. Teide

Seen from the top of the street above th flat in Playa de la Arena. Snow!
here - NOT! Even before I went out I'd decided to go away again next winter so I spent some of my time trying to arrange a flat. There was nothing else available in the block where my friends' flat is so I had to look further afield including one of the places I looked at last year, a big modern block overlooking the Fisherwoman's Statue where the carnival procession starts from. The concierge there showed me a 3 - bed apartment last year, it was absolutely huge, like a bungalow inside an apartment block and way too big for my purpose and not a great position, quite low down and overlooking the road out of Los Gigantes so there was lots of traffic noise during the day. This time, however, he had a 2 - bed available, much higher up and on the other side of the block with views over Los Gigantes, the harbour and the cliffs so I've booked that for December, January and February next winter. At the moment there's no Internet there which is a pity but they might yet install it before I get there at the end of the year. On the plus
Los Gigantes squareLos Gigantes squareLos Gigantes square

This year's gratuitous gorgeous girlie pic.
side, they do have some English TV channels which might keep me out the pub ( or not ). Finally, if you click on the photos, they'll come up much bigger.
Adios,
Tom Back From Tenerife.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Carnival Queen 2011Carnival Queen 2011
Carnival Queen 2011

Taken at the Grand Procession, Sunday March 20th 2011
DancersDancers
Dancers

Sunday's Grand Procession
DancersDancers
Dancers

Sunday's Grand Procession
More DancersMore Dancers
More Dancers

Sunday's Grand Procession
Yet More DancersYet More Dancers
Yet More Dancers

Sunday's Grand Procession
Who's this?Who's this?
Who's this?

Col. Gadaffi escapes to Tenerife!
Dinner!Dinner!
Dinner!

Sardines, Canarian potatoes and Mojo sauces - yummy!
Gigansol del MarGigansol del Mar
Gigansol del Mar

Aprtment block in Los Gigantes housing my flat for next winter.
PanoramaPanorama
Panorama

View from the balcony of my flat next winter.


Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb