Day 2: Munich - Vienna


Advertisement
Europe
September 27th 2009
Published: October 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

* 350km

Rolled into Munich Barnhoff at 7am. The night had been mixed. On the negative side were the size of the carriage (6 people in a 6ft x 8ft x 10ft box), the Australian ladies who whinged like Kath and Kim, an english girl who couldn't climb down three rungs of a ladder without constant reassurance from her hen-pecked boyfriend, and fact that wasn't enough room to open my Beaujolais. On the positive side the remaining bunk was graced by a stunning french lady called Marie. Marie was unfortunately engaged to a guy called Luke who worked in media. Over him.

Anywho, I stumbled off the train knackered and hopelessly in love. Plan was to pick up a map of Munich, find a coffee shop and work out how to make the most of my 6 hours here. I had hadn't realised that it was Oktoberfest. Station was heaving - young groups of rude boys, groups of teenagers hoping to get lucky, lutheran families, catholic families, oldies, all of them either drunk, getting drunk or thinking about how to get drunk. Most were in traditional gear - lederhosen for the men and extremely fetching wenches outfits for the girls. I felt out of place and bitterly regretted leaving my lederhosen in my sister's garage. I was annoyed for first time in trip - no lederhosen, no spare seat to gather my thoughts, a heavy rucksack, a dinner suit and an undrunk bottle of Beaujolais. The voice of Ron Burgundy entered my consciousness - when in Rome. I decided to blend in, to disappear, to do a Marcus. I decided to get on it.

Its now midday and I've been in a beer tent for 2 hours. I'm slightly drunk and need to find my way back to station. Train leaves in 30 mins. Better go.

Made it to Vienna. Train extremely fast (180km/h for you nerds out there). Hostel excellent but a little souless. Full of aussie bazbus people so it feels more like clapham than vienna.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

The BoysThe Boys
The Boys

Stefan (dude 4th from right) bought me a wholly unnecessary 3rd stein.


Tot: 3.316s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0535s; 3; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb