fish tank


Advertisement
Europe
September 11th 2007
Published: September 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

To get an idea of life onboard, one most imagine a fish bowl. My community being the bowl and the other people are the fishes. I’ve come up with this conclusion because we are free to roam around, but the space is limited. Though, there are plenty of people I haven’t seen there are people I bump into all day and see constantly.
There is also the aspect of food, much like a fish bowl are food is scheduled and if one misses there scheduled hour for either breakfast, lunch or dinner, one does not eat. Our bowl also gets cleaned by various people. And so I am now please to say I live in a fish bowl.
My laundry has been very difficult to do; from the lack of circulation in my room my clothes are muggy. I’ve done a lot of repeat wearing (my jeans and pj’s I wear for a good amount of time). As far as what there is to do, well since the options are limited I could either go to one of three tiny pools, or to the two Jacuzzi’s on board. There is also a nice gym area, weights, cardio, and sauna. I did make it to the sauna the other day, but it was 5 degrees before I felt like I was roasting. I had to remove my earring because they were burning my ears. So more then likely I won’t be attending the sauna very often. I haven’t been in the pool, but various students played Marco polo in the pool yesterday. Which was actually pretty freaking funny since the pool is minuscule. Mentioning that I have had the strongest desire to play hide n seek, but I don’t know everyone yet so it would be kinda difficult to find someone when I am not sure its them.
The food options are good, I get the soup of the day daily, which its always yummy and always a surprise new flavor. The serve a lot of vegan food which has been interesting to try, to say the least, but what I have been very fond of is peanut butter sandwiches with all naturally peanut butter….yummy
As for the gym I have attended in fact I had full intention on going today but we are facing some bad weather and its been difficult to walk much less try to work out. I would be the one surely falling off the bike. I even had difficulty showering this morning I had to lean against the wall in order to not fall over.
But other then that today we had a silent moment for September 11th, we all stood outside held hands and people shared their experiences. It was very emotional, I most say. I started crying just from seeing how much it affected some people, still six years later.
We had to make an emergency stop in Italy the other day because some guy I had internal bleeding. And today we might be stopping in Spain because two others are very sick. I don’t know exactly how I feel about that, but I can only hope that there isn’t something spreading along the ship.

by the way i have been recieving everyones comments i just cant respond because i only have a few minutes, i be writting back in portugal and calling....love you guys :-D


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

peoplepeople
people

martin and emma
peoplepeople
people

yas and me (wearing sara's shirt)
the shipthe ship
the ship

i took this while i was laying on the deck
night before portigalnight before portigal
night before portigal

party party party
my brothermy brother
my brother

male version of me


12th September 2007

Hi sis
Hi Nana: I laughed so hard with your naked story..I know it was embarressing, but I am sure it is somehting you will never forget and laugh about later on. I am sorry you are now in a fish tank, but I am sure you will get used to it and evenuallly learn to love it. Mami has been asking me about your food on the ship, so now I could tell her about Peanut butter sandwishes and soup experiences. :) Perhaps you could play hide n seek with your roommate. hahahaha. Anyway, we think about you and miss you everyday. Almost in portugal!!! I bet you can't wait! Mami has not written you the note, but when she does, I will type it.
12th September 2007

Nice way of putting it
ja ja, that's funny.. a fish bowl. Well it sounds like you are busy already. I hope you are enjoying yourself, as much as a enjoy hearing about your trip. It's a like a story, i look forward to the next chapter. love you.

Tot: 0.36s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0816s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb