Rome


Advertisement
Vatican City's flag
Europe » Vatican City
September 27th 2006
Published: March 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Continued from last entry:

The next day we headed on our long journey to Rome. We didn't go to the hotel first, Louise took us on a tour even though she wasn't allowed to. We saw but didn't go in the Colloseum. We went in the Pantheon and sat on the Spanish Steps. We saw the Trevi Fountain and were supposed to throw three coins in. One for good luck, one to come back to Rome and one for true love. I only threw in two, since I think i've already found true love and partly because I don't want to jinx it. We saw the Italian National Monument that the Italians don't like. We had to get some sleep because we had the whole next day in Rome and had to get up early to go to Vatican City. And it's a good thing we did because the line was insane, it took us around 2 and 1/2 hours to get to the security check. All our bags had to be x-rayed. We had these little walkie talkie type things with a little earpiece that was super uncomfortable. I twas so we could hear our guide.

We had to stop because you aren't supposed to talk in the Sistine Chapel even though she did anyways. There were some interesting points but for the most part it was boring and I didn't know but someone snapped a pic of me looking extremely bored and almost sad sitting down. We went through the museum which was really cool. We saw the Sistine Chapel and it was incredible, the colours were so vibrant, it was beautiful! People were taking pictures and it's so disrespectful especially because the flash deteriorates the paintings. I saw someone getting kicked out which made me happy.

We went to St. Peters and that was really amazing. I went into the prayer room and said a quick prayer and stood in a couple lines to see sarcophaguses. I could have seen Pope Jean Paul's tomb but there was a huge line, i'll have to do that next time. I got lost from everyone and found a couple of people after I checked out the outside but they hadn't seen anyone and I didn't want to bother them. Then I found the couple from Mexico and asked them where the shuttle that goes from the Vatican. They showed me and I kept walking and they came up to me again and asked if I wanted to go with them so I did. We went to the top of the Castel Saint Angelo which was hard work but worth it. Then we took the bus but missed the stop and thank god Spanish and Italian are similar because they asked for directions and we took the metro to the Colloseum.

I walked around for a bit and took some photos and then parted with the Mexicans. I shopped around, got hit on by some Italians and got a couple pics with some "Gladiators". I headed back by myself which was scary but I was so proud of myself when I got the the right place. And I sat beside the cutest Italian toddler ever. I'm glad I went back early because after waiting around 40 minutes for some of the group for the shuttle to the hotel we went to the cheapest convenience store I have ever seen. I got some stuff, went back to the hotel and sort of organized my suitcase, layed on the bed and ate a whole jar of olives and fell asleep watching Italian MTV. I saw a commercial for Italian "The Office"!! Cool! I had an hour nap and woke up to the ceiling falling in the hallway. Our hotel was really nice though and to get into the room you just had to put the card in front of a sensor.

I went down to dinner and afterwards had a few drinks and had some weird conversation with the bartender. He was arguing with me about liking Canada and speaking French. He then asked me if I sold cocaine or ever killed a person! What the hell? I don't know why that popped into his head when he heard I was Canadian. So me and Mike were killing ourselves laughing and joking about it. The next day we went to Florence...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb