88 Temples of Shikoku


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom
July 27th 2014
Published: July 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

shikokushikokushikoku

This is the map with all the different temples, some are condensed together and the rest are all spread apart. Originally it was only Monks whom did this pilgrimage but later opened up to the common people.
My favorite program on NHK World is Journeys In Japan and Begin Japanology, they're the best documentaries to find different destinations to explore and get to know different communities. I spoke to a Japanese guy whom reminded me of an episode by both these programs based on the 88 Temples in Shikoku; a lot of people say it's a good way to reflect on their life as usually these pilgrims are retired, but some people participating are tourists as well. This is definitely going to be an aim for me in the future if I manage to live out there long enough or continuously visit throughout my life.

The course takes 50 days to complete and over 1000 kilometers long, but things like these are a good way to meet people and embrace your surroundings. The people in Shikoku are so hospitable, it's astounding- the locals provide food/water and gifts as well as accommodation for people who are on this journey. This is quite unheard of level of hospitality compared to Britain, I guess because we don't really have sacred temples and some of the stories you can see in the links below have truly touching stories.

A monk
Cave- the monk is believed to have meditated here until he discovered his enlightenmentCave- the monk is believed to have meditated here until he discovered his enlightenmentCave- the monk is believed to have meditated here until he discovered his enlightenment

Dōgyō Ninin (同行二人), meaning "two traveling together" — the other traveler being the spirit of Kobo Daishi.
noticed a pilgrim whom was a little unhappy and so offered him shelter since he was backpacking and staying

Wikipedia is a reliable source to read the itinerary and order and also gives you tips for your own safety and how to start.

There many other ways of going about this trip; by foot, by coach or by car and many people choose to do it once a week or so as there is no strict rules.

I love meeting new people and I think it would be a nice opportunity to go in big groups, I know nothing about Shinto traditions or rituals so I'd go with a guide or follow everyone else's steps. I told my boyfriend about the O-Henro and he told me his grandparents had done it!

We're quite an active family on both and mum's and my dad's side and I'm getting back into my fitness and I hope to pursue that until I'm much much older because I enjoy a challenge, especially if it's in Japan.

Most of the temples are situated at the mouth of the island so they should be easy enough to find, there's many hills
TokenTokenToken

My boyfriend sent me this over Skype, I didn't realise it at the time that it was part of the Shikoku Pilgrim. I was glad they did it and to hear lots of people enjoy it.
to get to them so sometimes they can be a bit of a treck but I'm sure it would be very rewarding.



Source:






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

nokyochonokyocho
nokyocho

For every temple you visit, you receive a stamp to prove you visited and participated in the pilgrimage and it would be buried with you.
The atireThe atire
The atire

The locals can spot a pilgrim because they would wear the proper robes and so would be more likely to offer them help. White is the traditional colour worn at a funeral, as many monks died for various reasons during the pilgrim, they would prepare beforehand their clothes- and that tradition still follows through today.


Tot: 0.704s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0721s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb