D32: Pwllgwaelod..?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales
July 21st 2014
Published: July 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

July 20: Pwllgwaelod / Dinas Head

I don’t know what it is, but I felt lazy lazy LAZY today. Perhaps because it’s Sunday. Perhaps because I knew I was going hiking and I’ve been hiking (or at least walking for 5+ hrs) most days on this trip… so… I was no overly gung-ho when I woke up.

I decided to take the bus to Pwllgwaelod (don’t bother asking how it’s pronounced, I have no clue haha) and doing the circuit hike around Dinas Head for some beautiful views along the coast towards Fishguard and towards Newport on the other side. The weather was interesting - it was supposed to be sunny and partly cloudy and about 20 min into the hike I saw the clouds coming and they did not say “partly cloudy” … they said “angry storm clouds coming to get you”. I don’t know how, but the rain stayed at bay and although it got pretty windy and chilly, there was never any actual rain. It was interesting seeing the low clouds in land - I love low clouds, such an atmosphere to them.

The walk was stunning. I met a lot of people along the way - I like that it’s off the beaten path enough that it’s not overrun and people are friendly as can be. Everyone you pass it’s the friendly smile and “hello” and because the path is mostly only wide enough for one, you’re constantly finding little spaces to wait and pass each other and it’s just a nice day of human interaction. I made some hiking buddies too lol. Between these two American woman and this German couple, the three of us kept passing each other in loop for most of the hike - stopping for photos or food or enjoying the view whatever it may be, so it became a running joke every time we’d see each other along the walk.

So many dogs on this walk as well, I love it. Of all the places I’ve been, Wales certainly seems to have the most dogs everywhere you go. I made friends with a chocolate Labrador on the bus ride back to Fishguard - see, even the busses have dogs.

For the bus back to Fishguard I had the same driver as in the morning - he was such a sweetie. I love when the drivers are not only nice to tourists but are interested in having a chat. I also love that everything ended with “love”. ‘Have a nice day, love’ ‘Cheers, love’ ‘See you next time, love’.

I walked around Fishguard and Goodwick for a bit after that - down along to the harbour front. I found myself a bench and continued on with my book. Once back at the hostel, one of the guys staying there started talking to me - he was from Poland. He was telling me how he’d spent the night sleeping on one of the ledges up on Dinas Head. Adventurous, sure… not sure how safe that is in terms of not falling to your death, but hey.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb