the great salmon leap - cancelled!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Wales » Powys » Welshpool
October 29th 2013
Published: October 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I had it in my head that this is the time of year for the salmon to make their way up river to spawn, so we thought we go along to the weir near Newtown to see what we could see. Well, we saw a lot of fast flowing water - what did I expect after all that rain. And the weir was rough, and the salmon ladder ....... well, I wouldn't have tried jumping today. So, no, we didn't see any fish. But we had a lovely stroll through a nature reserve, found a few caches and had a sandwich before calling on a sleepy Mum in her new room. A good day then.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

looking hopefullylooking hopefully
looking hopefully

at the fish ladder.
looking hopefully looking hopefully
looking hopefully

for a cache beneath a bird hide
looking pleased looking pleased
looking pleased

after finding another cache


30th October 2013

it is a pretty spot
by the pond. I am glad you found some caches. Anne and I went looking for two of them near my house but we searched and searched and could not find them :(. Please tell Aunty Gwen that we said Hi and we hope that she is settling in well. xx
31st October 2013

salmon
I'll pass on your good wishes. I was just showing Mum today the photos of when you went to Montgomery Castle with them. And please give my love to Paddy too. Carrie
30th October 2013

Salmon
looks like a lovely day, after your terrible weather. Sorry you couldn't find the salmon

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb