Wet Islay (2)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland
July 20th 2006
Published: July 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Weather Report

Overcast morning with rain from early hours through to about 9am. Thereafter warm with sunny periods. Strong wind developed late afternoon but stayed dry.

Washed in the rain - seemed a shame to waste the free water then had a leisurely breakfast before returning bike to the shop. Found what is described as the Islay Service Point - mostly local heath and housing services but with free i-net access. So updated my blogs.

Did some food shopping and then took my washing to the laundrette which is part of the swimming pool complex. While the washing was on the go I had a refreshing shower. Returned to tent with washing nicely clean and dry and had a leisurely snack while reading ‘The Times’ for the first time in a week.

In the afternoon I visited the round church in the village and sought some information in the TIC. Unfortunately I had forgotten that there is only one ferry a week to Colonsay - on Wednesdays. Looking in my files I had noted this fact but obviously it had not registered ! So change of plans required. Now intend to go to Jura on Saturday (5 minute ferry ride and a couple of buses) and then Colonsay on Wednesday. Problem with Colonsay is that camping is not allowed so if I want to explore the island I will have to stay in a B&B - more expense !

No doubt by the time this blog is posted the story will have been told !


Advertisement



Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb