Last Day in Edinburgh


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Edinburgh
July 20th 2014
Published: July 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post


The view from Arthur's Seat
Thankfully I did not fall off the bed last night. I was going to wake up and go see the Dunnotar Castle in Stonehaven, but there is so much more of Edinburgh to see. You could spend a week here and you still wouldn’t have seen everything there is to see. I headed out to go see Arthur’s Seat this morning. It is one of three extinct volcanoes in Edinburgh. The other two are the castle and Calton Hill. It was one of the hardest hikes I have climbed so far, but the view was worth it. At the top, you can see the entire city of Edinburgh. From all of these mountains I have been climbing, I would consider myself an amateur hiker. I am starting to develop a like of hiking, but am wondering why I don’t have super huge leg muscles yet. When I was done, I climbed back down to the bottom and walked to the HollyRood Palace. From there, I walked back down the Royal Mile. The weather was great, just a tad cloudy, but no rain. I ended up searching for the Elephant House so I could eat lunch there. It is the café where J.K. Rowling wrote some of the Harry Potter books. Since she is very famous, the Elephant House is know very famous. The line was huge so I got some ice cream and walked around until the line went down. I ended up getting a Chorizo, pesto, and mozzarella baguette. It was nice, but not a whole lot of food and I was put at a table with other solo travelers. When I was done, I went into the museum to actually see it. I only saw one floor because it was so huge. I could definitely spend days in there. I did get to see the Maiden which was pretty cool. I ended up leaving and going to see the castle. It is 16 pounds to get in, so I decided not to go. It was super crowded, so I recommend an early entry. I roamed around the city looking for some sights from yesterday’s walking tour and some new closes. I walked back to the hostel to eat dinner and prepare for tomorrow. Tomorrow I will go on my 5 day tour through Inverness, Loch ness, Isle of Sky, and the highlands. I can’t take my big suitcase, so

Hollyrod Palace
I had to transfer all of my things into a smaller bag and leave my suitcase locked up at the hostel I am meeting at. I am super excited! Until then,


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Edinburgh Castle


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb