Highland Romp


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Midlothian » Dalkeith
September 30th 2007
Published: September 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This weekend was the backpacking tour in the Highlands...it was amazing. We did a lot of stuff; far too much to write about but I'll list most of what we did in no particular order:

*Went IN Loch Ness (yes...I ran in and out of it. FREEZING!!)
*Culloden Battlefield (very sad and spiritual place...and I'm not even Scottish)
*Eilean Doran Castle
*Visited Hamish, Scotland's oldest and most famous Highland coo
*Iverness
*Isle of Skye
*Glencoe (BEAUTIFUL...one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen)
*Drovers Inn (a pub that has been around for over 300 years)
*Pitlochry
*St. Conan's church
*Rogie Falls
*William Wallace monument
*Distillery (smallest legal one in Scotland)

I'll be more descriptive and add more later, but we did a lot in a short amount of time. It's hard to remember everything, but one of the girls wrote the places down. We also got along well with a couple of Aussie girls; Amy and Emma, and Amy is in London for another month or so and we might visit her. There were also a few people from Spain, and they didn't know English very well...and somehow things were lost in translation and Juan thought I was here to study architecture. Don't ask me how he got that out of the words "studying abroad," but I didn't know how to correct that one!

Our guide Nicky was really really cool and had great stories about Scotland and it's history. It was her last tour, so she made sure to take us off the beaten path to places not many people know about. Our bus driver Adrian was really cool too and he knew a lot as well. We all went to a pub together the first night and saw a cool Scottish band play Celtic music. It was a really cool group all around and worth all the money I spent doing it.

I better go and start homework now though...then I need to unpack and shower. YUCK!!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb