Snowy Scotland


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Aberdeenshire » Huntly
December 26th 2010
Published: December 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Gordon and I had a lovely time in the sunshine at Kosi Bay. Gordon very cleverly bought a few beach toys, like a baseball and soccer ball, which kept us all entertained for a while. We really enjoyed spending the quality time with my family.

Sitting in the heat of South Africa it is hard to imagine the snow and the cold in the northern hemisphere. As lovely as the snow is, it caused a bit of hassle in getting to Scotland this year. Our original flight was cancelled and so we spent the next 24 hours trying to find another flight to the UK.

After flying via Munich we finally arrived in the cold. The shock of the cold hit me quite hard and took me a while to get used to it. Scotland is white with the snow, which quite easily comes up to my knees. We are held up in Gordon's grandparent's 'cottage' in the middle of nowhere. We've taken a few trips into Huntly to do some last minute Christmas shopping.

Christmas in Scotland is very festive. Our Christmas dinner table was decorated with real holly, which is beautiful. Maggie actually makes her own wreaths, which I think is amazing. The Christmas tree is real and there are Christmas lights everywhere. The only downside is that I don't have my family and loved ones here with me.

We are not sure of our plans while in the UK. We are taking it as it comes. A visit to the West coast of Scotland, and maybe a night at Loch Ness are in our thoughts though.

I wish all of you a happy Christmas. You are all in my thoughts even though I feel far away.

Love, Kel


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



26th December 2010

Ah to have a snowy Christmas!
Hi my friend Actually felt very nostalgic reading your lovely blog entry today. The snow certainly is something special - just creates such a warm and cosy mood! I love that everything is 'real' - the tree, the snow, the wreathes! You're very lucky! Hope you're having a special boxing day. We went for a 3 hour (yes - 3 hour!) ride with Nathalie (SAP consultant), her hubby and their friends at Teak place this morning. Christoph bravely attempted a bridge crossing over one of the little dams and fell in within 1 metre of leaving the bank! Poor guy and bicycle went into the water, disappeared for a second and then rose out looking quite disgruntled. Banged his head on the bridge the poor dear! On the upside though we had a seriaaas workout and wow - what stunning hot weather today.. the cycling tan is getting more firmly engrained. Love to you and Gords - know that you're on my mind every minute! Aim
28th December 2010

Snowy Scotland
Love your photo of snowy forest. That would make a grand Christmas Card for next year. Just lovely.

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 15; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb