Exploring the Granite City


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Scotland » Aberdeenshire » Aberdeen
May 6th 2007
Published: May 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Aberdeen portAberdeen portAberdeen port

Heading into Regent Quay in Aberdeen
Ah Aberdeen, the granite city. I spent a good three days wandering around this pretty city, admiring the old granite buildings and nice parks. Tons of cool looking churches were everywhere, and a lot of the stores I passed had interesting names like “The Snuggery”, or “The Cheeky Monkey”.

I pretty much saw everything a tourist could see in this city with exception to most of old Aberdeen and the university district. Seeing places like Castlegate and the Mercat Cross make me realize how young Canada is. Taking a stroll throughout downtown on streets like Union make me wish I lived closer to a city as well. Everything is made of granite it seems, and I was lucky to have two good days of bright sunshine to make everything gleam. One day of rain turned the city rather gloomy, but it still didn't hinder my adventures.

Places like Marischal College, and Robert Gordon's College don't look anything like what I would think of as a college. More like a castle with a bunch of uniformed kids wandering about. One of my favourite hangouts downtown was the graveyard at the Kirk of St. Nicholas. Very pretty and well done,
The Crown and AnchorThe Crown and AnchorThe Crown and Anchor

First stop is a bar three metres away from the dock hehe
but I have a thing for old graveyards anyways. Union Terrace Gardens was another good hang out spot to chillout and rest my wandering feet, plus it provided an excellent view of the surrounding buildings, like His Majesty's Theatre.

Of course I had to indulge myself with a proper British (Scottish haha) breakfast, and of course I just had to sample the variety of booze and liquors too, especially scotch which I have become quite fond of. However there is one drink I don't know how anyone can drink: Irn Bru, which is some sort of soft drink that has the most horrible fake taste going. Sort of like a combination between bubblegum, acid, and cream soda I think. Ugh, but it sells like crazy.

A few other places of note which I went where Provost Skene and Provost Ross' houses which were some of the oldest buildings in the city. The art gallery was nice as were all the statues and parks littering the city. Ah love Europe in general just for this, how culture oozes from everywhere, while back home there isn't much.

I could easily come back here again as I had a fantastic
Aberdeen Shiprow St.Aberdeen Shiprow St.Aberdeen Shiprow St.

Some cool building with the Maritime Museum right next door on the right.
time puttering about. Next time though If I'm in town due to work or pleasure, I may have to head up north to castle country.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Aberdeen Shiprow St.Aberdeen Shiprow St.
Aberdeen Shiprow St.

Provost Ross' house right by the Maritime Museum
CastlegateCastlegate
Castlegate

Castlegate, which is an awesome area
CastlegateCastlegate
Castlegate

Castlegate and Mercat Cross
Mercat CrossMercat Cross
Mercat Cross

Some of the detail at Mercat Cross
Union StreetUnion Street
Union Street

Looking down Union St. from Castlegate
Marischal CollegeMarischal College
Marischal College

The outside of Marischal College
UpperkirkgateUpperkirkgate
Upperkirkgate

Along Upperkirkgate checking out the stores
Provost Skene's houseProvost Skene's house
Provost Skene's house

Provost Skene's House, which I think is the oldest none church building in the city.
Kirk of St. NicholasKirk of St. Nicholas
Kirk of St. Nicholas

Awesome cemetary at St. Nicholas
Outside Robert Gordon's CollegeOutside Robert Gordon's College
Outside Robert Gordon's College

A Statue of Robert Gordon with a bucket on his head
Robert Gordon's CollegeRobert Gordon's College
Robert Gordon's College

Inside the courtyard at Robert Gordon's College
AberdeenAberdeen
Aberdeen

Overlooking the city from the edge of Union Terrace Gardins
William WallaceWilliam Wallace
William Wallace

William Wallace looking mighty fine outside His Majesty's Theatre
AberdeenAberdeen
Aberdeen

Looking up past the theatre and library
AberdeenAberdeen
Aberdeen

Statue of a guy I can't remember
AberdeenAberdeen
Aberdeen

Looking out at an old church from Union Terrance Gardins
Union Terrace GardinUnion Terrace Gardin
Union Terrace Gardin

Down a path in the gardins
AberdeenAberdeen
Aberdeen

Statue of Edward the seventh....I think. Right on the corner of Union St. and the gardins
Union StreetUnion Street
Union Street

Walking along Union St.
Old BlackfriarsOld Blackfriars
Old Blackfriars

Old pub with tasty food at Castlegate
AberdeenAberdeen
Aberdeen

Up north a bit in Aberdeen, looking down a residential road
His Majesty's TheatreHis Majesty's Theatre
His Majesty's Theatre

View of His Majesty's Theatre from the Gardins
LondonLondon
London

Looking down at London from the plane out.


5th July 2007

I just found this
holy crap dude, you're a globetrotter, just like the CCP scriptures said! here's hoping you don't have to go to a doctor in the UK, and if you do, try to carefully check any cars nearby, it could save your life!

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb