Grand Tour of Ireland 2012 Day 12: Giant's Causeway in Northern Ireland


Advertisement
Published: March 25th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Northern Ireland!

Probably the most exciting part of the trip going in was the chance to go see the Giant's Causeway! I first saw pictures of it when I was 6 years old and knew that I'd some day want to go and walk among the hexagons. I finally had the opportunity to go even though Colby was going to stay behind. "It's just a bunch of rocks," he said and sent me on my way.

I didn't care if I was going alone.

I took the Paddywagon Tour and our first stop was the Carrick-a-rede rope bridge on the northern tip of Northern Ireland. I had already been to the Capilano Suspension Bridge in Vancouver so this one was no big deal. The one hear was smaller and shorter and not as high as the Vancouver one. So easy as pie right? Having the sea on both sides was amazing though.

I took a short hike among the hill making sure not to build up any inertia that may send me tumbling over the cliffs and into the freezing waters. Off in the distance you could see an island shrouded in the mytsery of mist. I imagined it as Avalon, a fabled land from my mythological studies.

We finally arrived at the causeway a short time later. I decided to take the hike down instead of taking the shuttle bus. The views were spectacular and I liked how more and more hexagonal the rocks get as you approach the Causeway. According to legend, the causeway was built by a rival of Finn MacCool who was fleeing. I enjoyed sitting on the rocks and observing them from afar and up close. I wished Colby would of come so he could take a billion pictures of me enjoying the Causeway.

We then headed over to Londonderry or Derry, depending on which side or religion you are on. They gave us a walking tour of the forts, churches, and walls. We saw the Protestant side and the Catholic side. We went down to where some battles took place and to the infamous Bloody Sunday site.

So much fighting and death. When people would talk to the guide you could sense his anger still.

I got home later that night. Colby had stayed up for me. I told him all about the rocks and bridge and death. Hopefully e won't think its just a pile of rocks anymore.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb