A fair welcome to the Emerald Isle


Advertisement
Published: August 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi guys, I'm still alive (although I shouldn't joke too much about how important that statement is right now - eek!)

So, 4 countries down (Yes Dad, 5 if you include Cornwall!) and 2 weeks gone and I'm about to move across to the home run. What adventures has Frankie been up to recently then? Well, apart from a fair bit of cycling, I've mostly been enjoying the wonderful hospitality of the Irish thanks to all the contacts Fran has put me in touch with.

Day 11, Wednesday 13th August: Lawrenny - Pembroke - Rosslaire - Wexford
First leg: 13.53 miles, average speed 10.1mph, 1 hour 20 minutes
Second leg: 15.06 miles, average speed 12.8mph(!), 1hour 10 minutes


Very glad to leave Wales and the horrid weather behind me in Pembroke. The ferry was pretty shaky, even with the stabilisers on. However, we arrived in Rosslaire to a fine evening. As a cyclist I discovered you have to queue up and board with all the vehicles. Not good because you're stuck in a car park in the rain, but it did prove successful in terms of collecting sponsorship from all the motorcyclists around me! (I apologise now to everyone who gets very late cards, I meant to post them in Wales and only remembered about 2 hours ago to put them in a post box!!)
The ride to Wexford was so easy, despite being along a main road with 5miles of ferry traffic thundering past me, because the Irish have had the foresight to put nice, wide hard shoulders along every vaguely main-ish road (a whole lane to myself that's wider than my handlebars, luxury!). Meet Fran's cousin in Wexford town centre so he can show me way to his house - first of several occassions when I have to chase a car to find my way! By the time I reach his house 5 minutes down the road I'm more knackered than after a full days cycling usually!

Day 12, Thursday 14th August: Wexford to Arklow
48.65 miles
Average speed 11.6 mph
Ride time 4 hours 8 mins


Go into town and buy a map for Ireland - not much choice but hopefully not too many choices for routes either so fingers crossed for not getting too lost!! First really nice day in ages. In fact, first time I really need to apply sunscreen the whole trip so far! Perfect cycling conditions: flat roads, breeze at my back, sun on my shoulders! Finally get a decent speed up again, damn good thing too because between Blackwater and Kilmuckridge I get chased by 4 dogs. The vicious little Irish feckers seem to think this is the best game in the world to chase cyclists! One Cocker Spanial was particularly well practiced at their sport and, knowing a short cut, very nearly got a good taste of my ankles - thank god I was going downhill at the time!! If any sign can now put the fear into me and get me pedalling faster it's "Beware of the Dog"!!
Stop in Courtown for an ice-cream on the beach. This is a really tacky seaside town that all Dubliners used to go to on holiday (think Southend of Ireland I guess!). Skirt past Gorey and Inch (I promise you I don't make up all these placenames!) and arrive in Arklow. Make friends with the Tourist Info ladies and find out where my host for the night is based. She works at the spa in a hotel so I get complimentary use of the sauna and pool while I wait for her to finish work - just what my muscles ordered! Fulfill my craving for a cream tea at last - unfortunately not as good as the one I should have got in Devon when I had the chance.
Ali is delayed so sends a taxi to take me to where she lives (I'm not cheating, it was 6 miles back the way I'd come), unfortunately the taxi is a sedan and obviously my bike does not fit well in the boot. My precious steed is hanging out the back with the boot lid clunking on the wheel as the taxi driver hurtles down the road much to my consternation. Luckily bike and I survive and Ali gives me a warm welcome and insists I sit with my feet up and watch TV all night - I feel so lazy!

Day 13, Friday 15th August: Arklow to Dublin
53.30 miles
11.3 mph
4 hours 40 mins


Pump breaks on me and had a slow puncture in front wheel for days so get a lift back into Arklow with Ali. No bike shops in Arklow so regrettably I have to rely on Tescos to equip me with a new pump. Take the coast road up towards Wicklow. Cycle past a guy down a country lane and he stops to ask me about my trip. Turns out he's from a local radio station and phones up his colleagues and tries to get me on the radio. Ha ha, yes I have now officially had my 15 minutes of fame, quite literally. Stood in a supermarket car park while the DJ phones me up and asks me lots of questions about my trip, the charity, my diet etc etc! I'm just so glad no one will ever hear it as the station is far too small to have online recordings!!!
Luckily all the dogs this afternoon seem to been sent to sleep by the heat so I don't have to brandish my old pump as a weapon. Instead I have to battle against the rush hour traffic in Dublin city centre, not something I wish to repeat in a hurry! Swept around the one-way system and eventually escape to the relative safety of the pedestrian crowds on Grafton street. Dash into M&S to buy wine as I've been invited to dinner at an old work colleagues house - being treated to some more excellent Irish hospitality!

Day 14, Saturday 16th August: Dublin to Drogheda
47.19 miles
11.6 mph
4 hours 1 min


Really don't want to get up this morning despite lying on a deflated lilo! When I look out the window at the rain lashing down I really want to go back to bed! But like the idiot I am I head out into it anyway. Hugh did offer to accompany me through the streets of Dublin but I excuse him from going out in this foul weather. I'll regret that an hour later when I'm well and truely lost in the suburbs of Dublin. End up near Howth on the coast and the wind is so strong I can barely move the bike forwards. Cycle round in circles past the same DART station 3 times - even look at the timetable to see if I can get a train out of town and onto the right path again. Unfortunately I can't so I escape cheating and continue to battle the weather until 2 hours later I've covered the 5 miles to Swords. Treat myself to a fry-up and hot drink and consider going to the cinema rather than back out in the horrid weather! Somehow find the will-power to go on.
Absolutely freezing cold and soaked to the bone by the time I get to Drogheda. Fran hasn't text me details of tonights accommodation so go to the Tourist Info Office to shelter while I call him. Bless them, the lovely people there make me a cuppa and turn on the heater for me to stand and drip over! Turns out we have crossed wires and the 'friend of friend' I'm supposed to stay with tonight is still in the States - ack. TIC book me a hostel just up the road though and with teeth chattering I stagger over to them and jump into a hot shower. The Deep Heat comes in handy again to defrost my toes!
Proper Saturday night in eating pizza and watching X-Factor. Only ruined by the fact an abnoxious, grumpy, bitter old man insists on bitching to me all evening and a creepy Spanish guy keeps staring at me! Go and hide in my dorm room as soon as I can!

So that's a summary of the first few days in Ireland. The last two have been particularly eventful so I'll update again later when I've found some more energy. fxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.258s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 26; qc: 111; dbt: 0.1482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb