Avebury


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
January 31st 2011
Published: January 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After having a nice sleep in Marlborough and breakfast with fresh smoked salmon. Helena took me to Avebury where I got to see and walk the remnants of the stone circles. One was of the moon and the other was of the sun. The moon circle felt very gentle, I felt more internal, relaxed, in the flow of a liquid molasses like flow. The sun circle was like doing a few rounds of sun salutations, it felt upbeat. Both very restorative to my constitution. Some of the stones are like living breathing beings. Found shells in one of them, a heart in another, one a crescent moon shape. We stopped in a shop and spoke with the keeper about the history of the stones. Some of them were demolished into bits by putting the stone over a hot flame then pouring water over it. Some of the homes of Avebury...or maybe all of them have some of the stone material in there make-up. Others were buried...because the circles and stones in formation were thought to be "pagan"...Pagan just means to worship the earth, sun moon and stars, whats so weird about that?😉
I felt like I could stay there forever, we'll see, maybe I will go back.
I had a dear friend when I lived in Santa Fe who said..."I like stones better than I like most people" sometimes I really agree😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0733s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb