Cheers


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
December 12th 2008
Published: December 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Norwich CastleNorwich CastleNorwich Castle

last tour of an English castle
My final papers have been submitted into official-looking wooden boxes in their respective departments. My physiology exam rests in the hands of the course director to be graded. My room is now halfway packed, one suitcase stuffed full of memories, the other suitcase waiting to be filled. It's all rather symbolic, actually, because right now I feel like half of me can't wait to leave for Europe and then home...but the other half inevitably wonders: where has the time gone?

Without having to study or write papers or complete other academically stressful responsibilities that usually keep my brain occupied, my mind naturally wanders in the direction of jumbled reminiscence, nostalgia, and reflection. I remember, waiting at Newark Airport, meeting the college professor, a graduate of UEA himself, who predicted this semester to be a really fun time for me. Too bad he was a terrible predictor of the future.

These past months haven't been just a 'fun time.' I have gone through every single emotion there has ever existed. I have been stretched out of my comfort zone in a place far, far away from home for the longest amount of time I have been without seeing my family. I have learned to be a wary traveler, to be fully alert at all times for the possibility of danger, to deal with stressful situations in foreign places.

And I wouldn't trade it for anything. Because this past semester, I have felt some of the purest, most complete happiness of my life while experiencing numbers of breathtakingly beautiful moments, surrounded by spectacular views. I have pushed myself to be even more open and accepting of different cultures, different people, and just plain differences. I have made some friends with whom I will keep in touch for a lifetime.

So when that man told me to make the most of my semester abroad, I hope he knew that I would take his advice to heart. And I know that, even when I have everything packed and ready to go, it doesn't mean that I will leave this place and these people forever.

So cheers to having the most amazing opportunity of my life thus far. Cheers to studying abroad, to meeting new people, and to having my breath taken away time and time again. Cheers to England, to Europe, and to incredible travel experiences.

Let's continue the adventure in Barcelona, Rome, and Venice.

Cheers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Norwich Castle MuseumNorwich Castle Museum
Norwich Castle Museum

Babes in the Wood - John Bell
Mr. Crepes - "flippin' great crepes"Mr. Crepes - "flippin' great crepes"
Mr. Crepes - "flippin' great crepes"

coconut, chocolate, and whipped cream - mmm!
the VengaBoys!the VengaBoys!
the VengaBoys!

(they're back!!)
Vania and meVania and me
Vania and me

on a ride called The Eliminator :S


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb