Not a single tourist site


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England
October 5th 2007
Published: October 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday was the start of my journey home. I had a flight on Tuesday morning to London where I planned to spend a few days visiting some friends before heading on home.
I have to comment on this flight because I got to fly first class. It turns out that the pilot happened to be sponsoring some children at Ray of Hope where I worked in Kampala. We had met several times. He was able to use some clout and get me bumped up to first class. It was pretty nice. The best part was that the seats reclined almost all the way, so you could actually almost sleep. I was well rested when I reached London, which was good.

I didn't stay in London though, I was whisked quickly to the great town of Lemington Spa. Where a band was playing in the local pub. Because we were running late my first meal outside of Africa was at McDonalds. Once again it is good to know people who know people, as we ended up locked in after last drinks.

The next day, we were trying to rack our head about what tourist things to do. In the end we didn't do anything. We watched Starwars, went to the post, went to lunch, and had coffee. We actually did a drive by on the local castle and I took pictures. We looked at going in but it was 18pounds to get in... seems like a real rip off. So instead we pretended we went and we took pictures of postcards. I took pictures of Lemington Spa as well. Everyone got a kick out of that last fact.

It was an open debate if it was sad that I have now been to England ONCE, and have not seen a single tourist thing. I didn't even see the Palace or Thames River. Oh well, maybe next time, and maybe not.

I took the train from Lemington Spa to Gatwick. I know why trains in England are so expensive they are incredibly nice. There were nice comfy chairs, tables and men going through the cars with refreshments for sale. The tube once I was in London wasn't quite as nice.

Click for UK pictures

Oh yes. I am in Cincinnati now. I landed yesterday in Atlanta and decided in true backpacker mode to take the overnight Greyhound bus up to Cincinnati. It really wasn't so bad. I seats were comfortable enough to sleep and we stopped every couple hours for a break. It was very different from the African busses. No chickens for one. Everyone had a seat. But on some things it seemed just as or more chaotic than in Africa. I don't know. I would do it again, it was easy.


Advertisement



8th October 2007

Welcome Back!
.
13th October 2007

First class with a stop in London? Sounds like a nice trip home! How long will you be in the States? I spent two months traveling stateside and I'm at two months in Seattle. It still feels a little odd to be back, but fun to have dinner parties and clean clothes running water. :) Welcome back!

Tot: 0.227s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1077s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb