Evesham to Pershore River Walk


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Worcestershire
December 2nd 2009
Published: December 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Cropthorne MillCropthorne MillCropthorne Mill

In the village of Fladbury. On an island and thus the need for a boat to get over to it
Last year I set about walking the Shakespeare's Avon Way. This is a long distance walk of 88 miles following the River Avon from its source near to Naseby in Northamptonshire to where it meets the River Severn at Tewkesbury. The walk does not follow the river bank from beginning to end as that would be impossible. The Way does its best to keep as close to the river as it can but every now and again one is diverted away from the Avon and this means the occasional walk along country lanes. Last year I set off from Naseby and got to Evesham in 4 days leaving me to complete the stretch from Evesham to Tewkesbury. Today was set aside to do the 8 mile stretch from Evesham to Pershore. This was a pleasant walk along quite a few farm tracks and country lanes which I appreciated after the endless rain we had suffered over the last week or so. I didn't fancy plodding along muddy river banks. Went through the delightful villages of Charlton, Fladbury and Wyre Piddle before arriving at Pershore with its glorious Abbey. A very easy walk and although rain threatened it held off.
The walk
Pershore AbbeyPershore AbbeyPershore Abbey

The Abbey dominates the skyline as you approach the town
was concluded with a trip round the Abbey. Upon entering in my walking gear I was asked if I was attending the funeral!!!A quick look round before retreating to the nearby park for my tuna sandwich. The return trip to Evesham was on the local bus service which took me back through the villages I had previously walked through earlier that day

Advertisement



6th December 2009

What about the funny old people?
The best bit of your story about your day's walking was about the encounters you had at the bus stop in Pershore with all the old bus weary travel cynics. You should write about the characters you meet on your jaunts. Like the pics. x
7th December 2009

Funny old people
Point taken. When I arrived at bus stop to catch the bus back to Evesham I was greeted with doom and gloom from 3 oldies standing at the stop. Upon asking what time was the next bus I was greeted with howls of ''you will be lucky if one turns up this afternoon''. I was also informed that taxis are difficult to find in Pershore. Would I be stuck in Pershore? No no - the bus turned up 20 minutes later.

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb