A Winter Wonderland at Home!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Yorkshire » Leeds
December 26th 2010
Published: January 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Frozen LakeFrozen LakeFrozen Lake

Temple Newsam Park, Leeds, UK
A Winter Wonderland at Home!

December 2010 was one the coldest winters I ever experienced and probably the coldest in my life! MSN news commented that December was the 'coldest in 120 years' with temperatures being low as minus 20 in some areas especially in the Scottish Highlands and the severe temperatures that brought most of the country to a stand still. Travelling for pleasure was not on everyone's priority list but I wanted to take the opportunity to enjoy the snow and the pretty scenery locally.

Leeds did not escape from the big freeze and snow and this affected commuting to work. On a couple of days, I had to work from home because the buses were affected and I was concerned about being stranded at my office if the weather deteriorated. Fortunately, I did not have any big travel plans but I know that the weather affected a lot of travellers especially for those who were flying abroad. I never known it so cold but at least it was a nice dry cold instead of the usual damp we get. I was glad to invest in a new winter coat, a hat and some boots just beforehand.

I made a couple of trips to my local park, Temple Newsam. I was able to walk to the park from where I live because it is just down the road from my home and it was nice admiring the winter wonderland and enjoying the warmth at the tea shop. We were in Darlington, in the North East of England, during the Christmas Holidays and we made a couple of local walks at a local nature reserve and at one the town's parks. Again it was enjoyable but very cold but the highlight was going sledging with my niece which I have not done since I was a kid!

I thought I will share some photos including of me sledging!

Just less than a month before my next adventure where it should be warmer and maybe just as cold!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Sledging with my Niece!Sledging with my Niece!
Sledging with my Niece!

Rockwell Nature Reserve, Darlington, UK
Frozen LakeFrozen Lake
Frozen Lake

Temple Newsam Park, Leeds, UK
Winter WonderlandWinter Wonderland
Winter Wonderland

Near where I work! Leeds, UK
Frozen WaterFrozen Water
Frozen Water

Rockwell Nature Reserve, Darlington, UK
River TeesRiver Tees
River Tees

Darlington, UK


2nd January 2011

A White Christmas for you
Oh wow. That's a lot of snow. I wouldn't be caught outside in that weather. Happy new year!
2nd January 2011

My old town
I lived in Leeds from 1979 until 2004. Looking at your photos of the snow, I've just been trying to describe what snow is like to my work collegues here in Indonesia. One of my fellow teachers was saying that he'd like to fly to England just so that he could touch the snow and fly straight back to Java!
3rd January 2011
Rockwell Nature Reserve & River Skerne

Beautiful picture.
5th January 2011

Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!
Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 21; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb