T-17 Days!


Advertisement
Published: April 2nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hi All,

T-17 days to go before the big trip! I thought I best get used to this blogging malarkey as it sounds like a good way of keeping in touch with people and as I have some serious time on my hands, this may be a good way to keep myself occupied during any spare time I have. Some may say I've just lost my blogging virginity!
I intend to write a few blogs before I go, to share some of my feelings an thoughts about leaving everything I know and love about this merry place called England and embarking on the Experience of a Lifetime- a working Holiday in Australia!

So why are you going I hear you ask? Well... the answer is not straight forward. I've reached a certain stage of life ( known as the mid twenties) where everything gets a little serious. Careers. Engagements. Mortgages. I know that at some point (fairly soon) I'm going to have to establish some roots and ' settle down', but not just quite yet thank you very much 😊 There's a few more things I want to see and do before I succumb to getting a labradoodle, shopping at Marks and Spencers and purchasing a Volvo.

Also my contract with the Council came to an end, so I took this opportunity to do something I love and explore! That being said, I never did have a 'gap yar' so perhaps this is my rebelliousness that should have been exhausted pre university.

My travels so far have included volunteering for a month in Uganda, Interailing around Europe, and 2 weeks travelling around India. All of which were fab but I returned to normality and the comfort of routine. This will be my first time being a Nomad, living out of a rucksack and having no fixed abode or major plan with a fairly open timescale.

One thing that people have asked me when hearing of my trip is "are you going with anyone?" and I always watch their eyes widen in shock as I reply "No". I guess the concept of travelling alone does not phase me. There's always people in the same position as yourself who are looking for a good time. I remember touching down in Goa, checking into the hostel and being in the bar having a kingfisher and a fish curry with my new found friends within the space of 10 minutes. It also allows you to do exclusively what you want to do, without feeling the need to satisfy the plans of others. I'm sure at some point I may get lonely but hey I'm only human.

The one thing I shall miss however is someone to hold onto/ look after the bags whilst having a mooch around- especially at aiports ect. That and the company during long tedious journeys. Anyone who has travelled alone can sympathise with me on this one- taking your humungous rucksack into tiny toilet cubicle that resembles ' the worst toilet in Scotland' ( from Danny Boyles train spotting) is incredibly annoying.

Anyway I don't wish to bombard you with too much info so I'm calling it a night. More to come about couch-surfing, The Australian Working Holiday Visa, WWOOF ing and of course my plan of action, which is yet to be decided...



Peace Out!



JJ x

Advertisement



2nd April 2014

Always loved your attitude Johnny! Living life to the max! I look forward to reading your blogs :-)
2nd April 2014

Start of what sounds like a great trip
Hi John a great read so far! Hope that we can stay in touch on what I'm sure will be a great trip. See you at the beer festival, Phil :)

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb