Spring Canals and Castles (well one)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Warwickshire » Warwick
April 14th 2012
Published: April 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Its been a quiet start to the year hiking trip wise so with spring poking it's head above the rampants (often to just be shot down with icy weather and occasional snow storms) it was time to strap on the hiking boots and join one of my groups for a relaxed day hikes in the countryside to ease my way back into the habit.

Nothing like a relaxed 9 mile hike along canals towpaths and down country lanes and roads to get you back in touch with how lovely spring in the UK is, if the weather holds off. While the clouds threatened to bring on the rain, the sun kept chasing them across the sky and we had an almost sunny hike. I'd have to say not the most exciting part of the UK, but nothing wrong with canal boats, locks aplenty and rolling rapeseed fields just not that exciting.

We ended up back in Warwick about 3 giving those who wanted to a good 3 hours to visit Warwick Castle. I decided not to go in, £21 for a 3 hour visit for an "authentic" medieval experience just didn't do it for me. Instead I invested my time and funds in a lovely cream tea and a £2.50 donation to the Collegiate of St Mary to climb their tower and get an aerial view of the Castle and town. Add to that a wander through the church and I was satisfied with my visit to Warwick.

The rain which had held off decided to come down just as we were making our way back to the mini bus so all in all a successful day, even if it did show me just how out of condition I am! More hiking I see coming up!

Jane x


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

lock after lock after locklock after lock after lock
lock after lock after lock

kiss your afternoon goodbye
Mum didn't look impressedMum didn't look impressed
Mum didn't look impressed

but she may have heard I wanted to eat her offspring


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb