spring 2008


Advertisement
Published: March 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

hey guys. i am currently on spring break travelling, but in my downtime in the evenings i am going to try to compose some entries about what all i've done. you'll be astounded.

my first destination was newcastle, which is about an hour north of york by train. my flight to the continent departed from this city, and since i have a friend who lives there, i figured i would spend a couple nights and have a look around the city.

newcastle was nice. it is famous for the bridges on the quayside (pronounced key side) in the river Tyne where boats used to dock back in the day. So we looked at the bridges, and at the new music auditorium place, and at the BALTIC, a crazy contemporary art museum. we being me and my friend Liz. Let me tell you about her. I think Liz is the favorite of just about everyone on the floor bc she´s just sweet as pie. When I first got to York and was all freaking out to be so far away from my life, basically, I felt better once I met Liz. I could tell as soon as I met her that she was a sincerely sweet girl, and I was not wrong.

Really, I enjoyed spending time with Liz and her family more than walking around Newcastle. I mean, Newcastle was fine. The city was cute and very English, they´ve got a nice but REALLY REALLY FRIGID beach, the BALTIC was filled with really weird stuff but it was free so I can´t complain, but Liz´s family displayed hospitality of a quality to suit southern standards. Keep in mind that when I went to Liz´s house, that was the first time I had been in a home in 5 whole months! The night I arrived Liz´s mom made a HUGE dinner (shepherd´s pie, surprisingly delicious mashed turnips, vegetables, apple crumble), and I had a cozy bedroom all to myself. I was too wired with anticipation for my impending travels to sleep much, but i certainly had a very nice bed to lay awake in all night. It was wonderful to sit around watching tv while stuffed to capacity with homemade food. AND i got to take a bath!!!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

beachbeach
beach

it was so cold!!! our faces were numb in about 5 minutes. it was an interesting introduction to spring break.
THE new castleTHE new castle
THE new castle

but not new any more
liz in BALTICliz in BALTIC
liz in BALTIC

the floor was made out of banana boxes. liz really liked that.


27th March 2008

Good beginning!
Well, it starts. The Sarah LaBauve ridiculously long spring break all about Europe. Jealous, why yes I am. I don't understand the blinking bridge. I'm confused. You haven't bathed the whole time!!! EW!!! :)
28th March 2008

I'm so glad you got to be reminded of a home, if not your own. Your G-ma would be proud, I think. That architecture is AMAZING! Too nice a place, really, for Mr. and Mrs. Wickham!
2nd April 2008

Looks like you're going to be having alot of adventures soon! Have fun!

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb