Back for some more of the British countryside in bloom!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Suffolk » Eye
April 30th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Back in Suffolk, back with the routine of sorting and writing. Taking more and more walks, often with a camera - observing the changing flora and fauna - not that I make any great pretence to know the different types, growing up in the Sussex countryside means that I know more than I thought I knew - I joke that I tend to know the difference between ‘tree’, ‘bush’, ‘plant’ and ‘flower’ - and that I have black fingers, although I come from a farming family and one of my brother’s trained in horticulture… I reckon they all took my green fingers! One thing I have learnt to identify is the screech of the pheasant as it takes off when disturbed - especially when they screech from the early hours!

I’m getting my bike out more and more, the sun enticing me out, with the opportunity to explore surrounding areas adding purpose to the rides… as someone who gets bored VERY quickly with the same old thing, gives an opportunity to see new places. 12 miles a day is not unusual, and I’ve found my way to the shops at Diss, and - unintentionally - to Eye. I was aiming for the newsagents (Media Guardian) in Hoxne that I’ve not yet found, but missed it so kept cycling to Eye - which looks like it would be worth a bit more exploration.

On the Sunday, after a day spent working through the research material I have accumulated for the LTM, rather burnt (I must remember, particularly when down-under, suncream, suncream!), made it to Fressingfield Church to be greeted by an unusual sight - all the bells were out at the back of the church… all on their way to be cleaned, then re-hung in 2008.

Random thoughts: Pleased to note that my nails are growing now that they are not submerged in water all the time, but doubt that will last. Turning my car round on the pebbles in my driveway makes me realise what it must be like to have a car with power steering - can do so much tighter turning… I’ve never driven a car with power steering - and resent it when people park me in so tight on the assumption that everyone has it these days!


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Fox and Goose PubFox and Goose Pub
Fox and Goose Pub

Next to the church - always a good place!
The bells...The bells...
The bells...

Don't get to see this often!


Tot: 0.42s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 24; qc: 89; dbt: 0.1302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb