New Home Sweet Home


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Suffolk » Bury Saint Edmunds
September 9th 2012
Published: September 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well it's been a week and we have moved to Bury St Edmunds, we have settled into our flat at Boxted Hall and I have sucessfully completed a weeks work at The Open College of Equine Studies. The week has certainly had it's ups and downs.

Our landlords have kindly furnished the flat for us, which involved hauling a beds, couches, chairs and tables from the attic.....lets just say our flat is spread over 4 stories with three flights of stairs, not to mention the two attic spaces above us where the furniture came from.....Vaughn's a good pack horse! So we have a lovely, warm house, overlooking the moat and gardens. It is very surreal out here, but surprisingly busy with guests coming and going and today we have been dodging cameras and actors for a movie that is being filmed here...watch this space.

The only thing we needed to provide was a fridge/freezer and washing machine, which I ordered from Argos. The first upset for the week was when they stuffed up our order and tried to deliver the goods to another address....and after some heated words from me....still can't deliver them until this week Tuesday! So thankfully my lovely new boss has lent us a fridge from the clinic set up at work and has allowed me to use the washing machine in the tack shed to wash our clothes!

The second upset was our beloved 250 pound car blowing it's gear box.....so that went to the scrap yard. So of course being in the wop wops one needs a car and now we have had to purchase a second car in two weeks with our very limited funds........thank goodness for the 'emergency funds' I left in NZ, didn't want to use them but tis done now. So we didn't have a car for a few days and I had only bought enough food to last us until the fridge arrived and then I would do a big shop.....Sainsbury delivery came to the rescue, delivering me groceries by the end of the week. Needless to say I am SICK of baked beans and spaghetti!

My dream job has had an interesting start, and perhaps me thinking it was my dream job, put it on a bit of pedestal. The administration work is fine and dandy I just had a bit of a knock to confidence for the first few days with the horses. So having an honest conversation with my boss, I have taken a step back from the young ones and will stick to the more sedate mature horses for now, until I gain confidence back. I have decided I will just treat the horses the way I always have. So we will see how this goes. Looking forward to getting riding this week on my main charge (who had a lost shoe last week so couldn't be ridden) and starting out using the techinques I know and trust to hopefully bring on the younger more 'spirited' ones.

We have managed to adopt alot of new animal friends over the past week - Barry the Swan likes to meet us for the daily bread offering from our patio into the moat at around 5.30pm, Badger the Collie dog loves to accompany us on our evening strolls (wow do I sound middle aged!) around the Estate. On these strolls we see foxes, climb over mole hills, stalk wild deer and scare the pigeons ...I am yet to see a live badger. At work I have a Ginger cat friends who seems to like playing in the water when I wash out the horses feed bowls, and a black & white cat who likes to sit on my lap in the office while I type away.

Today I have spent the day in the 30 degree sun on the sun lounger by the pool reading a book.....oh life is hard!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



10th September 2012

You have truly fallen on your feet! LOL
What an amazing place you have arrived to live in! It looks idyllic. The animals have discovered you love them! Hope Baxter & Benson don't hear about this! :) So pleased that it's working out so well despite the hiccups. Love you!
27th September 2012

Boxted
I didn't know you could stay at Boxted Hall, just came across your blog doing some research in the local area. How long are you staying for it looks lovely by the pool?
6th October 2012

Hi there, we actually rent a property on the estate. But you can stay at the main Hall see www.boxtedhall.com :-)

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb