GB07-8. Stoke-on-Trent


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Staffordshire
March 31st 2007
Published: August 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Stoke-on-TrentStoke-on-TrentStoke-on-Trent

Two bottleneck kilns still standing
Here's the follow up of my trip to Great Britain in March and April 2007... I got stuck in Carlisle on the north west coast of England for a week. My idea was to visit potters driving along the way throughout Britain.

I left Carlisle on Friday around 4pm with cash pounds and pens in my pocket heading south to a place known for its ceramic industry. John, the expat friend with a house in the village where I live in France, had explained to me that Stoke-on-Trent was actually a conglomerate of several towns. He had scribbled in my michelin edition 2007 map of Great Britain and Ireland that I should visit Hanley, Fenton, Burslem and Longton.

The electric kiln in my pottery studio (berryhobby.blogspot.com) is tagged Potterycrafts Ltd, Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire. I was keen to know where it actually came from.

With these names in mind I headed south full speed on the M6 motorway. Eventually arrived in the nebulous surroundings at 7pm and looked for a place to stay the night. At a petrol station a lady was very helpful drawing a mini map for me where I could find a... not so cheap hotel. I
Stoke-on-Trent (2)Stoke-on-Trent (2)Stoke-on-Trent (2)

A solid brick building for a car park
found the place after driving in circles for a while, going past the same odd places twice, returning to where I had started from, and so on. The place is a maze!

The next day early Saturday morning I managed... again after a few miles driving in circles, to find the Stoke-on-Trent centre of town, the public library, a car park and even the ceramic industry museum. At the tourist office within the public library they gave me a tourist map and they drew arrows to the sites I wanted to visit, one of them being the Wedgwood factory. Walking around I lost the map without realising it. A four wheel drive pulled up next to me while I was taking one of these silly tourists photos and a man with a smile handed it back to me... Nice folks in Stoke!

At the museum I spent quite some time and learnt quite a few things. Namely where the expression 'pot holes' came from. It takes me back to Australia where I lived as a young married woman in the 1960's. 'Pot hole' was a new word for me then. There were plenty of them on the autralian
Stoke-on-Trent (3)Stoke-on-Trent (3)Stoke-on-Trent (3)

Down town early one morning
dirt roads I drove on. Well... it came from Stoke-on-Trent where in the 19th century farmers cum potters used to dig a bit of clay here and there, anywhere, just enough to throw a pot or two to add a bit of cash in their earnings. It wrecked the roads and the landscape. So much so that a bill was passed one day making it compulsory to fill up the damn holes the wretched potters used to dig everywhere!




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Stoke-on-Trent (4)Stoke-on-Trent (4)
Stoke-on-Trent (4)

Frankie in front of the Wedgwood factory shop
Stoke-on-Trent (5)Stoke-on-Trent (5)
Stoke-on-Trent (5)

New business buildings
Stoke-on-Trent (6)Stoke-on-Trent (6)
Stoke-on-Trent (6)

The Potteries Museum and Art Gallery
Stoke-on-Trent (7)Stoke-on-Trent (7)
Stoke-on-Trent (7)

Binga and war memorial
Stoke-on-Trent (8)Stoke-on-Trent (8)
Stoke-on-Trent (8)

Old buildings and scaffolds
Stoke-on-Trent (9)Stoke-on-Trent (9)
Stoke-on-Trent (9)

Spring in the city
Stoke-on-Trent (10)Stoke-on-Trent (10)
Stoke-on-Trent (10)

Tourists info
Stoke-on-Trent (11)Stoke-on-Trent (11)
Stoke-on-Trent (11)

Traditional British letter boxes and scaffoldings
Stoke-on-Trent (12)Stoke-on-Trent (12)
Stoke-on-Trent (12)

BBC radio building in Stoke
Stoke-on-Trent (13)Stoke-on-Trent (13)
Stoke-on-Trent (13)

Wedgwood factory shop


28th January 2011
Stoke-on-Trent (13)

Sweet Memories
I lived in Stoke on Trent from Sep. 2008 to Sep. 2009. I am a government officer in China. I was dispatched and studied MBA in Staffordshire University from 2008 to 2009. Stoke on Trent leaved me impressive memories for its peace and harmony, fresh air and bone china culture. I have been lived the sweet memories when I studied in Stoke on Trent. The photos arouse my sweet memories for Stoke on Trent. Thank you.
26th February 2011

re. Sweet Memories
Thank you for your comment Deliang Lu. I'd love to visit Shingdezhen one day. Maybe one day!

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0801s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb