Hello Sheffield


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » South Yorkshire » Sheffield
September 21st 2008
Published: September 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

SheffieldSheffieldSheffield

The main building of Campus.
Hello Everyone!

I've finally moved into my accommodation for the next year and it's amazing. The girls I'm living with are all really nice and open. They keep their doors open, or hang out in the kitchen. I think I know all of their names, but I'm not sure. We've been going out to all of the events for Intro Week. School doesn't actually start for another week. I went to the international intro week, and now all the freshers have their first week, to get used to the campus and then school starts on the 29th of Sept. I can't wait for classes to start. I really miss having something to do and feeling collegiate.

I have a very international flat. There are four girls from Britian, one from France, one from Canada, one from Finland and myself. It's very exciting and makes for very funny exchange of culture and ideas.

I've been making lots of new friends (esp. the girls in my flat). It seems that I've picked up a bit of an accent, but they find that funny and haven't teased me too bad about it. I still haven't been able to find hangers or
GardensGardensGardens

Some of the Gardens at Chatsworth
cheap groceries, so my room is a mess and I'm depending on my flatmates to feed me. I think after I manage to get to the grocery store in the city center I'll cook everyone a big meal of pasta or chili or something American. My flatmate Kat (from York) really wants a corn dog. I tried to explain it to her, but I don't think I did it justice. I really wish I could make corn dogs, but I think that I could make cornbread and then explain the concept better.

We went to Chatsworth earlier this week. The house is where they filmed Mr. Darcy's house in Pride and Prejudice. The inside tour wasn't overwhelming, but the gardens are amazing. (I think I added some pictures). It's all so large and proper gardens. It's amazing that people used to live in this house and travel around the gardens and the house. It's so strange to think on.

There's so much going on here. There are pub crawls and parties every night. They all cost money now (most of it was free during intro week) so I have to pick and choose what I'm going to. My
GardensGardensGardens

More Gardens
flatmates tease me, but that's okay. I'm going to a pub crawl next monday for a charity (drinking, for a charity? wicked) so that should be wonderful. I'm also looking forward to a lot of the non-alcoholic events as well (so no worries parents) that they have going on in the next week. it should prove to be very fulfilling, but very tiring. I can't wait!

Well, I think I'm going to go make some more tea. Cheers!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

FriendsFriends
Friends

Some friends and I at the cafe.


Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0682s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb