Shropshire Rain


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Shropshire » Ludlow
June 25th 2008
Published: June 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi Folks

Writing this looking out over the forecasters idea of a light shower - it is cold, wet and windy. Planned bike ride has been ditched and will drive to Leominster (about ten miles) as that has yet to be signed off ! (I am typing this in their library !!!!!). Aplogees for spells / grammmar 'cos no way to check stufff.

Finally moved from Herefordshire last Wed - a miserable day. Cold, wet and windy - perhaps Wednesday is always like that in these parts .... Setting up camp in such conditions is not fun but eventually I was settled into my new home. This is a half acre field on a farm just south of Ludlow (Shropshire). What is known as a 'certificated site' - ie it is not a CACC club site (showers, shop ....) but one that is accredited by the club and has basic facs (cdp, cold water tap, bins). It is an attractive setting just to the west of Clee Hill (515m) of which have good views.

Following day I set off on my bike to explore the surrounding area. - hoping to avoid hills that were too steep for tired legs. First stop was Richards Castle a small hamlet boasting both castle and church. The former is little more than a nettle covered mound - not reccommended. The church is really interesting with a detached bell tower - a featue unique to this part of the world. Both the church and castle had significant connections with the Mortimer family as did my next stop, St Georges church, Orleton.

The Mortimers' were a powerful family in the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries and were at the heart of court affairs for much of that time. St George's has fine examples of the work of the Hereford School of Sculpture as well as contemporary busts of Edward II, Queen Isabella, Piers Gaveson (Ed's 'friend') Mortimer (Isabella's lover) and other dignitaries. EII as far as I know was the first openly gay king of England and PG was his special friend. Mortimer with Isabellas encouragement had the king murdered in the hope of gaining ultimate power. Sadly for him it did not last and Edward'd son when he came of age had M executed and Isabella banished to a convent. Descendants of M played a major role in the Wars of the Roses (c 1450-1484) and indeed the pivotal battle of Mortimers Cross took place not far from here (1461).

The following day I used the car to tour the extreme north west of Herefordshire between Wigmore and the Welsh border. This is a remote moorland similar in many respects to Northumberland with much glacial scenery. Really peaceful with little sign of life other than the occasional isolated farmhouse. Wigmore itself boasts a fine church and a Mortimer castle fromwhcih there are excellent views over what was once a glacial lake - the whole area is a paradise for geographers !

I have also visited Croft Ambrey hillfort which is perched atop a hill with splendid views into Wales. The ramparts of this Iron Age fort are still clearly visible and mightily impressive. On my descent I spotted a fox peering intently through thick vegetation into a corn field quite unaware of me so that I was able to take several photographs. He then ambled down the path allowing me the opportunity to to take some video footage of his rear end disappearing into the distance. Amazingly he then turn round and walked back up the track towards me so I have delightful footage of his approached until he stopped and rather disdainfull fazed at me and drifted off into the field. An uplifting moment.

Sometimes I wonder why I am venturing up yet another minor road - the church in the hamlet of Aston Pipe would be the answer. You never know what you are going to find and this chapel like aisleless church is a gem with its richly carved tympanum, fourteenth century roof and Norman wall paintings.

... and, finally ... drove to Clee Hill and walked to the summit. Having deliberated as to whether to wear shorts / T-shirt I was mightily pleased to discover my fleece in my rucsac - it was v cold on the summit !!! Exceptional views made it all worthwhile.

... and completely finally ....... a moment of carelessness means that I am without laptop for the rest of this journey so you will be spared many more blogs...... The insurance company promise not to turn a dram into a nightmare blah blah blah ..... Already teeth are knashing while waiting for 'phone calls that do not arrive.

No photos 'cos this library will not allow be to attach anythin to their PC - nothing personal, just their rules which I am informed are under review.

Take care

Steve


Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1007s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb