Home sweet home


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire
June 11th 2008
Published: June 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Marblehead harbourMarblehead harbourMarblehead harbour

Cousins return
Well I'm finally home my dears! and having been off -line since I returned, unable to get this out.
I spent a final week in Boston, USA, with another dear and distant relative, mainly resting and recovering from the long journies of the past few months. Taking up my mother's hobby of connecting with relatives, feels very positive, and fun to make connections with those in distant parts. We did take an interesting ferry ride round the harbour for a historical tour, really fascinating to learn about the Boston Tea Party, and the place where the Revolution and break away from us Brits started; we were shown the very church spire where a lantern was hung to signal to Paul Revere and co that the war had started, and his great ride to tell the folks to rally round.
Also Lucy took me to Marblehead harbour, where so many years ago (when I was 15 yrs old!) I had first met her and her family, and spent a summer taking in New England and new relis, and my first and only visit to New york. Very evocative. and so beautiful there, boats in the harbour, little coves, more of what I
A Marblehead houseA Marblehead houseA Marblehead house

the good old days
love.

And then my last flight, over the Atlantic to Heathrow on May 23rd. I almost kissed the tarmac in my delight and relief at reaching home once more, realising several weeks ago how much I missed friends and family, and needed to be back. Spending the next week with family, re-bonding with the little grandlings was a wonderful experience, then home to good old Oxford; where I did have a wobble: what was I doing there? However after receiving so much feedback from my dear friends already, I feel very much loved and am now feeling quite at home and happy here. And considering writing a book....watch this space!
And with Jack here after his exams, I'm all fitted up with new laptop, new router and wireless connection! all mod cons.

So many folk have asked me for costings of my trip, I've sorted out this list:

Trains in Europe & Russia: £ 490
Visas for 4 countries via RealRussia: 264
FLights: 1660
Insurance with Columbus: 206
New Zealand tour - 3 weeks 1073.50
Total cash for everything else 3500
incl. transport & accom in China, V/N, Oz, NZ, Canada
Total for 5 months travelling £7203.

So there you have it; all done. I look forward so much to seeing you/chatting over the phone over the next few weeks, and to greeting the next grandling, due in 2 weeks.
With love, Margot

Advertisement



11th June 2008

Welcome Back
Have thoroughly enjoyed your travel blogs Margot thank you XXX I am sending you warm hearty hugs Lots of love Lesleyxxx

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb